Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Wow..This cake is wonderful! My family loved this..quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I was expecting this cake to actually have cinnamon in it. And, although I could add that myself & will the next time, I don't think it is right to call this a cinnamon cake without it in the batter. Take away the glaze & there would be no cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very good, I add chocolate, figs, walnuts and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I just made this cake for my husbands birthday. He LOVED it! I substituted applesauce for the shortening to help reduce the fat content and I doubled the recipe. (doubling the baking time) It turned out great! I was a little worried when I tasted the batter that it might be too sweet, but it was just right after baking. I didn't use all the 'topping', but put on enough to where the butter had stopped soaking through. (about half, I'm not big on powdered sugar, I also added more cinnamon to it.) This is a great simple cake to make. I know I'll be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made this with butter vs shortening and 1 T. of cinnamon in the batter. Since I am high altitude > 5,000 feet, I reduced the baking powder by 1/8 teaspoon so that it would come out okay. I also used cake flour. Put about 1 1/2 teas of cinnamon in powdered sugar. I am diabetic so I do not eat sugar foods of any kind, but hubbie ate half at one sitting. He gave it the above rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good quick and easy breakfast cake. I also added cinnamon to the batter, I think that is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyqcakes
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I've been snow-bound for 2 days and craving a coffee cake but didn't have a ton of ingredients around. I just wanted a simple cinnamon cake and this recipe is perfect. I followed the recipe but I added cinnamon to the batter and I like it a lot! This is just a basic cinnamon quick bread type cake. Very simple. Not too sweet not complicated. I did make one little error while mixing the ingredients; I grabbed chili powder instead of cinnamon and started shaking away into my batter!! I caught myself after two shakes and finished up with some ground cinnamon but I think it was a happy mistake! Chili powder gave it just a little extra kick. Lovely little cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
yummy - a little too much powdered sugar on the top. next time i will cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used butter instead of shortening. My sis said it tasted like a donut:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
LOVED this recipe and I must say... I made this cake while listening to all three of my preschool girls whine about how they wanted a special snack -- and for some reason cinnamon was the requested spice?!? I live in Germany, although am an American, and there are NOT many cinnamon cake/roll recipes... I found this recipe just browsing "cinnamon" and thought I can do this. I doubled the recipe as some readers had said to do. I didn't let the butter and sugar cream together long enough and had a clump, so I added the vanilla and was as impatient as the girls and added the milk. Looked TERRIBLE... to try to get a decent batter I went ahead and added all the ingredients and left it on mix while I helped one of the girls get dressed. I came back to a gorgeous batter, but wondered if I "overmixed" it. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and put the cake in the oven for 20 minutes as wasn't sure and took it out at 22 because I was scared of it getting too brown. I am thinking I underbaked it, but it was UH-MAZ-ING!!!!!!!!!! I think the cake was gone in 15 minutes flat and I don't mean cut up and on plates, I mean I couldn't cut it fast enough GONE in every tummy within arm's reach! My Turkish husband requested an encore... wow, YOU saved my DAY and I am indebted to you! Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States