Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Wow..This cake is wonderful! My family loved this..quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I was expecting this cake to actually have cinnamon in it. And, although I could add that myself & will the next time, I don't think it is right to call this a cinnamon cake without it in the batter. Take away the glaze & there would be no cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very good, I add chocolate, figs, walnuts and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I just made this cake for my husbands birthday. He LOVED it! I substituted applesauce for the shortening to help reduce the fat content and I doubled the recipe. (doubling the baking time) It turned out great! I was a little worried when I tasted the batter that it might be too sweet, but it was just right after baking. I didn't use all the 'topping', but put on enough to where the butter had stopped soaking through. (about half, I'm not big on powdered sugar, I also added more cinnamon to it.) This is a great simple cake to make. I know I'll be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made this with butter vs shortening and 1 T. of cinnamon in the batter. Since I am high altitude > 5,000 feet, I reduced the baking powder by 1/8 teaspoon so that it would come out okay. I also used cake flour. Put about 1 1/2 teas of cinnamon in powdered sugar. I am diabetic so I do not eat sugar foods of any kind, but hubbie ate half at one sitting. He gave it the above rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good quick and easy breakfast cake. I also added cinnamon to the batter, I think that is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyqcakes
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I've been snow-bound for 2 days and craving a coffee cake but didn't have a ton of ingredients around. I just wanted a simple cinnamon cake and this recipe is perfect. I followed the recipe but I added cinnamon to the batter and I like it a lot! This is just a basic cinnamon quick bread type cake. Very simple. Not too sweet not complicated. I did make one little error while mixing the ingredients; I grabbed chili powder instead of cinnamon and started shaking away into my batter!! I caught myself after two shakes and finished up with some ground cinnamon but I think it was a happy mistake! Chili powder gave it just a little extra kick. Lovely little cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
yummy - a little too much powdered sugar on the top. next time i will cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used butter instead of shortening. My sis said it tasted like a donut:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
LOVED this recipe and I must say... I made this cake while listening to all three of my preschool girls whine about how they wanted a special snack -- and for some reason cinnamon was the requested spice?!? I live in Germany, although am an American, and there are NOT many cinnamon cake/roll recipes... I found this recipe just browsing "cinnamon" and thought I can do this. I doubled the recipe as some readers had said to do. I didn't let the butter and sugar cream together long enough and had a clump, so I added the vanilla and was as impatient as the girls and added the milk. Looked TERRIBLE... to try to get a decent batter I went ahead and added all the ingredients and left it on mix while I helped one of the girls get dressed. I came back to a gorgeous batter, but wondered if I "overmixed" it. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and put the cake in the oven for 20 minutes as wasn't sure and took it out at 22 because I was scared of it getting too brown. I am thinking I underbaked it, but it was UH-MAZ-ING!!!!!!!!!! I think the cake was gone in 15 minutes flat and I don't mean cut up and on plates, I mean I couldn't cut it fast enough GONE in every tummy within arm's reach! My Turkish husband requested an encore... wow, YOU saved my DAY and I am indebted to you! Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States