Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I too grew up eating this, but as a breakfast treat. The recipe was passed on from my Grandmother to my mother, and on to me. It was one of my first baking experiences and now I am a professional Pastry Chef. My notes are simple.... for better flavor use either butter flavored shortening or replace some or all of the shortening with butter. Also I put cinnamon IN the cake batter instead of just on top. For the folks that didn't think it was exciting enough remember this is from the days of simplistic home baking. When mothers still cooked for the families everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was a great cake to make, very quick and easy. I followed earlier comments and used margarine instead of shortening, and I mixed in the cinnamon with the flour etc. I also modified the topping a bit, after spreading the margaine on top I sprinkled some powdered sugar on the top of the cake, rather than add 3/4 of a cup. It just sounded like too much sugar! My boyfriend enjoyed it, said "It's bang on!", and I agree. A good, traditional tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Excellent recipe! I made it just as it's written and I didn't think it made too much topping. You can control that anyway since you sift it on the cake at the end. The flavor reminded me of a homemade powdered sugar doughnut. You can tell this is an old-time recipe. Definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is the same recipe that has been in my family since my great-grandmother's time (originally from C&H sugar box). My GGM made it as a Sunday night supper cake; this tradition was continued by my grandmother, then my aunt, and then myself. I love it just as-is and haven't changed a thing, although I must admit that the cinnamon-sugar topping called for is way more than you'll need for one cake-- a third of that will suffice. My GGM used to serve it with gingered pears spooned over the top. Tasty and traditional, a simple old-fashioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe - the cake was very moist and delicious. I took the suggestions of another reviewer and added cinnamon to the batter and I replaced all of the shortening with butter. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This cake is great! But when you make it you might want to dubble your recipe because it dosen't make very much. Also I thought the recomende amout of toping was to much, but it was one of the best cakes iv'e had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made this with butter vs shortening and 1 T. of cinnamon in the batter. Since I am high altitude > 5,000 feet, I reduced the baking powder by 1/8 teaspoon so that it would come out okay. I also used cake flour. Put about 1 1/2 teas of cinnamon in powdered sugar. I am diabetic so I do not eat sugar foods of any kind, but hubbie ate half at one sitting. He gave it the above rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Loved this! I did cut back a little of the powdered sugar and added some cinnamon to the cake mixture, although I may add a little more cinnamon to it next time because my children like a little more cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I just made this cake for my husbands birthday. He LOVED it! I substituted applesauce for the shortening to help reduce the fat content and I doubled the recipe. (doubling the baking time) It turned out great! I was a little worried when I tasted the batter that it might be too sweet, but it was just right after baking. I didn't use all the 'topping', but put on enough to where the butter had stopped soaking through. (about half, I'm not big on powdered sugar, I also added more cinnamon to it.) This is a great simple cake to make. I know I'll be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good quick and easy breakfast cake. I also added cinnamon to the batter, I think that is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States