Cinnamon-Sugar Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is super easy to make, which I loved. Since so many other raters mentioned the sauce was high maintenance on the stovetop, I took the suggestion of another person and made mine in a glass Pyrex measuring cup. Worked great that way and was easy to pour right in. I thought it tasted good, but I wouldn't call it phenomenal or anything. I thought the sauce should have been doubled, but the person I gave it to as a gift liked it the way it was and thought more may have been too much. Thinking maybe a little more, but not quite doubled, would probably be perfect. Will definitely keep this recipe and I think it would make nice, inexpensive teacher gifts, but I still plan to try a few other popcorn recipes I've found on this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Didn't put it in the oven. Just mixed in the sugary coating, let cool and ate. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent! For a healthier version, I replaced half the butter with olive oil (melt butter, mix in sugar, stir in oil, then rest of ingredients. stir lots because the oil likes to separate but it eventually mixes in) and used 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 2/3 cup white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaMustEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I had to cut everything in half to make it a more managable amount. Aside from that, it was really easy to make and turned out wonderfully! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Made this today for a trial run for Bunco this week. Loved it! The only change I made was using half cinnamon, half cinnamon blend (cinnamon, nutmeg, orange peel, allspice)it's what I had left in the pantry. I also did not use a bowl to mix this in. I put my popcorn in a large paper bag then poured the cinnamon/sugar mix on top, closed the bag and shook like crazy. I do this for caramel corn too. Everything gets distributed pretty evenly this way and one less bowl to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rubeck Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Creston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Popped corn on the stove (1/4c oil, 1/2 c kernels). and used my largest bowl & wooden spoon for mixing. Didn't time how long I let the cinn/sugar mixture boil. I was too focused on making sure the popcorn didn't burn. Put in oven in 9x13, returned to bown I did the mixing in. Aside from hardening the sugar, I don't see any other reason to have it in the oven and dirty more dishes. Tasted great, just have dirty dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe needs better instructions, but it's a great snack! The first time, I also had a chunky, dumpy topping that didn't coat the popcorn (like other reviews). I think it's from overcooking. So take cautiously the instructions to "cook until thick and bubbly." I guess I misunderstood that exactly. I think the more fool-proof way is just to do it in the microwave as you are more likely to prevent scorching, overcooking and it'll be easier to pour from a glass measuring cup anyways. Use a 2-cup measurer, melt butter first (about 40 seconds), then add in other 5 ingredients and mix thoroughly. Then microwave on high for about 20 sec at a time, stirring inbetween until the topping is a thick sauce. The stirring is important to get all incorporated and applying enough heat to disolve the sugar is also important. Should take between a total of 40-60 seconds after you add the 5 ingredients. (I did it twice, total 40 seconds, but I had half a batch, so might make a difference.) As for baking, the method instructed seems fine. It does taste pretty good before baking, but like another noted, it will be sticky that way. It's great after baked as well- a combination between kettle corn and moose munch. I also mixed in mini marshmallows before pouring the coating. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Out of this world!!! Thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good! Nice and crunchy and sweet. I halved the popcorn amount but kept everything else as written. It provided more than enough for me and my boyfriend with lots left over. We were too impatient to wait for it to bake so I took half, baked it and we ate the other half as was, and I must say it is TONS better after it was baked. I read other reviews saying it was still good, which it is but definitely bake it! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was so easy to make. Clearly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States