Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great little muffin! Fluffy and moist (did some reviewers overmix the batter?), cinnamony, with a light citrus flavor, and just the right amount of sweetness. I used buttermilk powder rather than fresh buttermilk, which I have always found is a very acceptable substitute. I also used a combination of orange and lemon juice and added an extra 2T. of sugar to compensate for the tartness of the lemon. Thinking it couldn't hurt, I added the zest from half of a small lemon. My only criticism, and I believe noteworthy, is that if using 1/2 tsp. of the cinnamon mixture in the filling as directed, you'll end up with twice as much as you need! My suggestion would be to make half as much rather than add more of the filling to the muffins, but that may be just a personal preference. These must be good because hubs, who doesn't care for citrusy stuff and doesn't like muffins much either, asked me to hold a few aside for him before I gave the rest away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great muffin - but definitely lacking in orange flavor which is disappointing because the combination of spices goes so beautifully with orange.... However, on a bright note these muffins are so moist and full of flavor on their own that next time I would add some orange zest to heighten the orange flavor. I made this into 6 Texas sized muffins and used turbinado sugar vs. white in the topping to give it an extra crunch. They baked up very nice and the extra cinnamon/brown sugar inside was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS IF YOU'RE SINKING: Several people mentioned sinking, and if you're not overmixing... it's from putting too much brown sugar in your middle layer, so it sinks... A mistake I remember for all muffins/crumb cakes. I use the mixture for the middle AND for the topping to do TWO batches. I can't imagine using all of it for one. Outside of that... wow is this quick and easy!! I fill them to just about the top so there is a nice "muffin top." Not sure why all muffin recipes say only 2/3rd full or whatever. Better if you go towards the very top!! Made 10-11 muffins in a normal muffin tin. :) Also my oven tends to bake fast, so it only took 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Awesome muffins! I made jumbo size and they didnt last long! The only thing I did different is to add a little food coloring to brighten the color...Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
These muffins were pretty good. They were nice and moist and the streusel was nice on the top. They did however lack a litlle in flavor. I agree that they did need a little more orange flavor, maybe the orange zest as someone else suggested or maybe I would use concentrated orange juice with not as much water added to it to make the flavor a little stronger. I also added chopped pecans into both the cinnamon swirl mixture and the topping, it was very good, added a nice extra and a little crunch. I will most likely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I added the zest of one orange to the muffin part of this recipe and I used thawed orange juice concentrate to really bump up the flavor of orange in this recipe. (I read through the reviews before making these and a constant complaint was that it wasn't orange-y enough.) I wisked together the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients seperately, then folded the wet into the dry to prevent overmixing. I used a teaspoon measuring spoon to evenly distribute the topping over all the muffins. These baked up perfectly and everyone just loved them. I did not have any issues with dry muffins. I highly recommend doing what I did and using thawed orange juice concentrate and adding orange zest for more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe! I received many, many compliments. I made two double batches for a brunch and every single one disappeared! My husband was disappointed that we wouldn't be bringing any home! The good thing is that these are ingredients we have on hand every day, so they will be made often. The texture and flavor were perfect. The orange juice adds a subtle flavor, making them more unique. I accidentally put the cinnamon/sugar mixture in the middle and the brown sugar/butter mixuture on top...they still turned out great! The small amount of extra time they require is more than worth the terrific results! Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
These muffins are excellent!!! Put some zest in the batter. Really good, thank you, it's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These are beautifully light and tender cinnamon streusel muffins, sweet and very nicely spiced. They actually resemble cupcakes more than muffins, not that that's a negative. The reason I give four stars then, is the complete lack of orange flavor. To my mind, something with orange in the title should taste at least somewhat of orange. As a side note, by following the recipe exactly, I was left with excess cinnamon filling. I also found that the streusel topping was in excess of what it needs to be, but that's more of a personal preference. I cut it in half, which was perfect in my opinion. I would make these again, but would add about a teaspoon of orange zest to the batter as I think the cinnamon and orange together would be a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These were absolutely delicious!! I used about a teaspoon of orange zest to enhance the orange flavor. They were moist, cinnamony, with a hint of orange flavoring. I even tried them a second time without the streusel topping and they were still good. These are now a breakfast staple at our house. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States