Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great little muffin! Fluffy and moist (did some reviewers overmix the batter?), cinnamony, with a light citrus flavor, and just the right amount of sweetness. I used buttermilk powder rather than fresh buttermilk, which I have always found is a very acceptable substitute. I also used a combination of orange and lemon juice and added an extra 2T. of sugar to compensate for the tartness of the lemon. Thinking it couldn't hurt, I added the zest from half of a small lemon. My only criticism, and I believe noteworthy, is that if using 1/2 tsp. of the cinnamon mixture in the filling as directed, you'll end up with twice as much as you need! My suggestion would be to make half as much rather than add more of the filling to the muffins, but that may be just a personal preference. These must be good because hubs, who doesn't care for citrusy stuff and doesn't like muffins much either, asked me to hold a few aside for him before I gave the rest away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The first muffin recipe that's ever worked with my flexible muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I love the idea--the streusel especially worked well. However, I'm not too fond of the texture of the muffin--it's kind of chewy or gummy. Perhaps I under- or over-mixed it! The flavor is really nice, especially with the zest of an orange or two mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I made these twice - the first as muffins and they were delicious. The second in a 9 x 9 pan as a coffee cake. I drizzled some white icing on top. Second time - - delicious, again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
tried this recipe twice and it's a flop!!! the muffins were heavy and gummy!! i don't know what went wrong! the 2nd time, for sure i didn't overmix. could it be the homemade buttermilk? we don't have buttermilk in our area. i used 1/2 c milk and 1 1/2 tsp vinegar, stir and let stand for 10 mins. help!!! i know these muffins should be delicious!!! will try for the very last time... change the buttermilk to orange juice. oh, i also put some orange zest and they smelled really yummy! but gummy, no air-pockets! :((((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good little muffins, although I do agree with others that they could use more orange flavor. Very easy, though. Either I didn't use enough of the cinnamon sugar mix or the recipe calls for too much; I had about half leftover after spooning it into the middle of the muffins. I think maybe next time I'll swirl it in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed these muffins. I made the following changes: used 1/4 cup oil and added applesauce to make 1/3 cup, used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar. I also added some orange zest. I didn't make the streusel but instead made an orange glaze using 1/2 cup icing sugar, 1 tbsp orange juice and more orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe WITH orange zest added. I zested a tangerine actually, and then used the juice from it as my juice and added undiluted concentrate to make the full half cup. I also used whole wheat flour and some molasses because I used the whole wheat and had no brown sugar. I didn't add the topping, to save on calories, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
My 11 year old made this. I couldn't taste it due to my diet. The kids love it, they said they couldn't taste any orange flavor but it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylee1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I followed this recipe almost exactly, though I did add a teaspoon of orange zest to the muffin batter to boost the orange flavor that I love. The result was a truly beautiful looking muffin that my husband loved, with a nice tang that contrasted well with the cinnamon sugar swirl in the middle and the streusel topping. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchevyshortbox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States