Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made them just this morning! The muffin is very moist; however, I found that you could "taste" the vegetable oil--and I know I did not overpour! The streusel topping was yummy and I added orange coloring as a previous rater recommended. I also swapped the vanilla extract for orange and you could really taste the citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonneandPetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chatan, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Made these last nite. By Golly, they were GOOD! Even tho' I reduced the sugar by a tad, used concentrated orange juice plus a bit of lemon zest, nevertheless, I would still give it 5 stars since there ain't no 4 1/2 star rating. The orange flavour (after tweaking) just comes thru and the cinnamon sugar centre just completely blends with the whole muffin! If you don't try this, the loss is yours! Thanks so much Michelleca for this recipe. I am gonna Wow my family & friends with these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I loved the combination of orange and cinnamon in these muffins. I used fresh-squeezed OJ. Delicious as-is, but I just might add the zest of an orange next time for even more flavor! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
These are the new favorite muffin in my house!!! They are so delicious and moist, and I will be making them again and again. I made a total of two changes to the recipe: I used half whole wheat flour (because I feel that something I eat for breakfast should be fairly healthy) and I didn't have buttermilk, so instead I used the same amount of light sour cream. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Yum! Turned this into coffee cake, used all applesauce. Had to 1.5x the recipe. Very moist and delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This will be a recipe I will make over and over. I love these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
These turned out really good. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These muffins were very yummy with one minor addition. I added about 1/4 cup orange pulp, the muffins stayed moist and the orange flavor really came through. Aside from that it is an excellent recipe, I will definately make again. Num Num.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was going to rate these a 3 because I thought they were a litle dry, even though I baked them for just 20 minutes. But then along came my daughter the cinnamon lover and they just vanished. I used the juice from oranges in my fruit bowl and if I were to do that again I would probably add their zest as well as the flavour was very slight. Thankyou for a recipe my daughter loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great little muffin! Fluffy and moist (did some reviewers overmix the batter?), cinnamony, with a light citrus flavor, and just the right amount of sweetness. I used buttermilk powder rather than fresh buttermilk, which I have always found is a very acceptable substitute. I also used a combination of orange and lemon juice and added an extra 2T. of sugar to compensate for the tartness of the lemon. Thinking it couldn't hurt, I added the zest from half of a small lemon. My only criticism, and I believe noteworthy, is that if using 1/2 tsp. of the cinnamon mixture in the filling as directed, you'll end up with twice as much as you need! My suggestion would be to make half as much rather than add more of the filling to the muffins, but that may be just a personal preference. These must be good because hubs, who doesn't care for citrusy stuff and doesn't like muffins much either, asked me to hold a few aside for him before I gave the rest away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States