Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Awesome muffins - thought the orange would be overpowering, but it wasn't. Better than Perkins muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruderby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I agree with most of the reviews...great muffin recipe, but needs an extra orange-y kick, if they are going to be called orange muffins. That being said, I had leftover batter and made mini-muffins out of just the batter (not middle or top layer) and they were quite tasty! The only changes I made were I used applesauce instead of oil and I used a bit more cinnamon in the middle layer. Next time I'll add 1 tsp. orange zest. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I like my orange muffins more orangy. Next time I'll add orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good recipe. Made these with my 10 year old daughter who loves to bake. Accidentally added extra cinnamon to the batter but still came out great. Gone in fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half AP, and only one egg. A dozen muffins just doesn't need two eggs. I added the zest of half a navel orange, based on other reviewers' suggestions. This gave it a light but quantifiable orange taste. I think this would be rated higher if the name of it hadn't had "orange" in it - because it's a good muffin, just not orange-y. It's light if you don't overmix it, and my kidlet loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Normally I agree with recipes with this high of a rating, but this was a disappointment. There was hardly any flavor, even with me putting in a lot of extra orange zest. I just felt like I was eating a bland, oddly textured muffin (elastic instead of crumbly, and I didn't overmix), wishing I could just peel off & only eat the top (with the sugar crumbles). Won't be doing these again, with all the yummier muffin recipes I've got. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I added the zest of one orange to the muffin part of this recipe and I used thawed orange juice concentrate to really bump up the flavor of orange in this recipe. (I read through the reviews before making these and a constant complaint was that it wasn't orange-y enough.) I wisked together the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients seperately, then folded the wet into the dry to prevent overmixing. I used a teaspoon measuring spoon to evenly distribute the topping over all the muffins. These baked up perfectly and everyone just loved them. I did not have any issues with dry muffins. I highly recommend doing what I did and using thawed orange juice concentrate and adding orange zest for more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter and we loved it. But because I made them in two 11 mini-muffin tins, next time I'll double the Streusel and perhaps also add some orange extract to enhance the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Def needs more orange. I will make again but add more zest for more of an orange-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Overall a pretty good muffin recipe, despite that I forgot to add the eggs! They smelled great baking! I felt the recipe needed more orange flavor, some orange extract to replace the vanilla. The muffins had a nice mellow orange flavor which may be related to the type of orange I used. I reduced the sugar, like I always do with any recipe, to 1/4 c + 1/8 c sugar. I used Cara Cara oranges for 1 t orange zest (which the recipe did not call for), and for the juice. For the topping I read other reviewers who said the topping recipe produced too much, so I reduced mine to 1/8 c of each flour and sugar but ended up having to add more to get the topping grainy enough to be used. I also added 1/2 t orange zest (which the recipe did not call for), which also gave it another hit of orange, added the 1/2 t cinnamon and also put in 1/4 t allspice. I would make this again, but I'd include 1 t orange extract, maybe increase the zest to 1 1/2 t in the batter, increase the zest with the topping to 1 t. I'd also recommend experimenting with different types of oranges and citrus (you could do a citrus blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States