Cinnamon Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Delicious! The lemon gives an unexpected yummmmm. I thought the hardest part was getting all of the ground almonds worked into the meringue mixture. When everything was finally folded in, I didn't think the dough was too sticky to work with. I did liberally use extra powdered sugar when rolling the dough. I found it helpful to start with a large ball of the dough, and roll it in the powdered sugar first. Then I rolled the dough into a log shape, pressing the dough in on itself (almost like kneading, but not too much) to make sure it didn't fall apart. At this point, you could just cut the log into slices to bake as round cookies. Or, roll it out and cut with cookie cutters as per recipe. I found I could "knead" the scraps from the cutouts together back into a log again, and roll out again... using powdered sugar as necessary. The most fun of this recipe was painting on the frosting. Again... according to the recipe, I had the perfect consistency, and a little bit more than needed to paint all the cookies. Overall, a little labor-intensive, but so delicious they were worth the effort. After reading several reviews, I did cut the baking time in half. I still came out with brown meringue , but they sure taste great! Oh... and the best part... gluten free for my dear hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I had no trouble at all with the dough. Everything turned out very well except that the baking time is way too long! I baked them for 20min and I didnt keep an eye on them so the glaze turned brown and the cookies were hard. I would recommend cutting the time by half, other than that everything was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Easy peasy to make! The dough was a little bit sticky, but you can work with it quite well. :) The smell is heavenly! I would recommend putting them in the oven for a shorter time, like 15 minutes. I think I overbaked my first two sheets a little. Anyway, they taste very good! :) Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bára

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I had a difficult time with the dough. I tried chilling the dough to make it easier to work with, which helped a little. Used the recommended star cookie cutter, but when the cookies baked they lost their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious! But I wish the recipe was a little more specific on the almonds, because it did not occur to me until I started making them that I should probably be using raw almonds, not roasted salted! I put them in my food processor and they didn't come out all that fine, so I was a little worried, but not an issue! Definitely a bit too much salt, but luckily it still tastes very good! Some reviewers are saying to bake for half the time recommended in the recipe, but mine definitely needed a full 20 min. I wonder if it's the difference between using finely ground almonds/almond flour that you would buy in the store vs. grinding your own...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The dough was difficult to work with--hard to roll and to get the cookie shapes from the cookie cutters. The icing expanded when it was put on the cookies. When the cookies came out of the oven, they were extremely chewy. I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Husband's Wife
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Mine are more lemony than cinnamon. I used the ground almond from the Bulk Barn and found the dough to be a little crumbly rather than gooey, almost like pie crust (but not greasy). However, it worked well. I was afraid of overbaking, so I may have under baked, but mine came out a bit chewy. They're definitely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I loved this recipe - It was great to have such a good gluten-free cookie! The dough did get a little sticky but still came out just fine in the end. I also tried this w/ sliced alomonds rather than ground. I had to crush them a little first, but they gave the cookies a more oatmeal cookie type texture, though w/ the larger almond peices I had to skip the cookie cutter and just press w/ a glass. I'm going to try using this recipes as a base for other gluten free cookies as well, so thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Did not work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have just made these and they taste fab, just like zimtsterne cookies, however the White icing has cooked a little and gone brown, not stayed White. Has anyone got any tips about what I can do regarding keeping it white? Do you think it would work if I put the icing on half way through the baking process?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States