Cinnamon Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
Wow, these cookies are delicious, fun to make, easy and just all around good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I'd tried other Cinnamon Star recipes and was about to give up. This one worked perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Great cookie! Has good presentation, flavor and easy to make. I made it for a local "Night of the Stars", which features local talent. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I had a co-worker of mine bring these in and they were to die for. I can't say I've ever made these as I try, is the dough supposed to be THAT sticky before rolling ? I keep thinking I made it wrong even tho' the dough remains the same consistency no matter what version is tried.... The dough is not tough or stiff or rollable, it's all around 'marshmallow goo'...am I doing something wrong ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
easy to make and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were super tasty! I thought they tasted like the Quaker oatmeal breakfast bars. I made them for someone I know that has a gluten allergy. I refrigerated the dough as suggested, as it did look pretty gooey. That seemed to work! I used a heart shaped cookie cutter for Valentine's Day, and an 18 minute cook time seemed to be pretty good. I don't have a gluten allergy, but will be making them again for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I am rating this very high - the cookies were fantastic. I was a little nervous to make them after reading several comments about how sticky and hard to work with the dough is. I, however, did NOT have this problem at all. I used ground almond from the bulk barn, and didn't have any lemon zest so I just skipped that part. I added 1/4 tsp of cloves and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I whipped my egg whites (2 large eggs worth) nice and fluffy for several minutes in my mixer. I added the sugar gradually, and it made this very gooey marshmallow type of stuff. I folded it into the almond/spice mixture and it was pretty crumbly looking. I popped it into the fridge while I waited for the oven and prepped my pans. (max 5 minutes). I found the dough easy to work with if you knead it with your hands first. I rolled it between two sheets of parchment and cut out my stars (2 sizes). The meringue glaze is very thick, but easy to paint on with a pastry brush. The cookies baked for 9-11 minutes, until the glaze JUST started to brown on the points of the stars. They sat on the pans for a minute or two, then went onto my cooling racks. When warm, they're crispy on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside. I hope they stay this delicious even after they cool. FANTASTIC recipe - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have just made these and they taste fab, just like zimtsterne cookies, however the White icing has cooked a little and gone brown, not stayed White. Has anyone got any tips about what I can do regarding keeping it white? Do you think it would work if I put the icing on half way through the baking process?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I loved this recipe - It was great to have such a good gluten-free cookie! The dough did get a little sticky but still came out just fine in the end. I also tried this w/ sliced alomonds rather than ground. I had to crush them a little first, but they gave the cookies a more oatmeal cookie type texture, though w/ the larger almond peices I had to skip the cookie cutter and just press w/ a glass. I'm going to try using this recipes as a base for other gluten free cookies as well, so thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious! But I wish the recipe was a little more specific on the almonds, because it did not occur to me until I started making them that I should probably be using raw almonds, not roasted salted! I put them in my food processor and they didn't come out all that fine, so I was a little worried, but not an issue! Definitely a bit too much salt, but luckily it still tastes very good! Some reviewers are saying to bake for half the time recommended in the recipe, but mine definitely needed a full 20 min. I wonder if it's the difference between using finely ground almonds/almond flour that you would buy in the store vs. grinding your own...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States