Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These baked up pretty, delicious and crackly. I followed the recipe exactly. I had no problem rolling the dough into balls or the sugar. I tend to like thicker cookies, so on the last cookie sheet I tried not flattening the cookie dough balls at all and, interestingly, it made no difference whatsoever. They're light, just barely crispy and chewy all at once, and almost literally melt in your mouth. One thing they're NOT, however, and what made me somewhat disappointed with them, is cinnamon-y! I'm not so much disappointed in the recipe, I guess, as I am with my own expectations. The title does begin with "Cinnamon," and I based my expectations on that and the cinnamon chips - I should have had foresight, I suppose, and noticed there was no cinnamon in the dough. In keeping with the "Cinnamon Cookie" idea, were I to make these again I'd try backing off on both the nutmeg and ginger, and add a good amount of cinnamon instead. This made a LOT of dough, way more than I needed. But it worked out well because I gave half the dough to a busy friend to bake with her daughter and she was thrilled! Just another thought...with vanilla extract as pricey as it is, I have my doubts as to whether 2 T. is necessary. I'd bet that with all the spice in the cookie that you'd notice no difference if that was reduced to 2 teaspoons. Additionally, the lesser amount of liquid may be all that's needed to help those who found the dough difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
These cookies are so chewy, spicy, and good. I used 3 sticks of butter (eeek, good thing it makes a lot of cookies!) in place of the 1.5 cups of shortening and reduced the salt to three-quarters of a tsp. and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These are very good cookies with a taste all their own. I only made two minor changes, and that was to use margarine instead of shortening(I personally don't like using shortening for cookies) and I also only used 1 tsp of nutmeg and ginger. My dough was not "stiff" as was indicated it would be. The dough was too gooey to roll so I just scooped it out using my Tablespoon cookie scoop like any other cookie and sprinkled them with sugar before I put them in the oven. Oh, and one other thing, I could not find light molasses, so I used regular. The cookies turned out excellent! This recipe is a keeper! I will definately make them again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Hufford
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Amazing little cookie. I did end up cutting this recipe in half, I almost wish I hadn't. Only change I made was using all butter. I found that nine minutes at 350* was perfect for these cookies. I used my small #40 cookie scoop for this and it made perfect sized cookies. And the taste? Wow. These might be my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
These cookies are soooo yummy, especially when right out of the oven! The cinnamon chips really add a lot of flavor. This is definitely a "do again" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A refreshing change from the traditional "gingersnap" cookie. Wow! Still have that yummy spiciness, but with the cinnamon chips... Brilliant! Used my trademark Butter Flavor Crisco. And, tossed in a bit more of recommended spices. Presented beautifully!! Can't wait to serve these at Xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These had a nice flavor. Don't be afraid to put the 2 T of vanilla in, like I was; it's balanced by the spices. However, this was not the molasses spice cookie I thought it would be, but a light batter. The dough was not at all stiff as mentioned. It was too soft to roll. I added an extra 1 c of flour and chilled it. I also did not need to flatten them as they spread when cooked. Cinnamon chips were impossible to find in my area. I substituted butterscotch. I'm sure the cinnamon would be great, but I spent 2 hours and didn't find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
These must be the best cookies in existence. INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Fantastic cookies - I've had more requests for this recipe than any other!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oakwood Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Pretty good cookies. I like the cinnamon chips, but they are sweet, so I'd scale back on the sugar next time by about 1/2 a cup. With all of the sugar in the dough and rolling in sugar, it was just a tad too much for me. Otherwise, these are easy and good. The dough is more soft than stiff but it's easy to work, so it's all good to me. Rather than searching 20 stores for cinnamon chips (not my idea of a good time!) I learned on the Recipe Exchange that Hershey has a product locator. Incidently, so does Nestle but they don't make cinnamon chips. You can figure out if anywhere near you sells cinnamon chips by going to this website Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States