Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I tried this cookie a few years ago and not my family begs for them each year! The recipe for 5 doz is plenty, they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
These are wonderful! Very flavorful. I used butter and some applesauce in place of the shortening, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
These are great! my family loved them! I left half the batch in for and xtra 3 mins so they were dark brown and crunchy. They loved them like that but they suggested nxt time i leave out the chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Great recipe! My first try came out very soft (as they are supposed to, but a bit too soft for me) so the second time I added a little less molasses (about a third of a cup), both times they came out fantastic. :) I noticed another person tried butterscotch chips as a substitute. I really do not recommend the butterscotch at all. It's a strong flavor that ends up competing with the strong molasses and ginger flavors and overall I didn't think it worked very well. I tried another batch with white chocolate chips as a substitute chip and the slightly reduced molasses and those were amazingly good. Rave reviews over the holidays from family members including my 3-yr.-old niece who always tells it like it is. ;) I greased the cookie sheet with margarine, I like to grease the sheet even though this recipe says not to. They came out great with nice goldeny flat bottoms. I decorated at the end with confectioner's sugar instead of white sugar which I also recommend. That's it for my changes, other than that I made them as per the recipe. Fantastic cookies, I'm sure I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These had a nice flavor. Don't be afraid to put the 2 T of vanilla in, like I was; it's balanced by the spices. However, this was not the molasses spice cookie I thought it would be, but a light batter. The dough was not at all stiff as mentioned. It was too soft to roll. I added an extra 1 c of flour and chilled it. I also did not need to flatten them as they spread when cooked. Cinnamon chips were impossible to find in my area. I substituted butterscotch. I'm sure the cinnamon would be great, but I spent 2 hours and didn't find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
These actually came out more like tiny gingersnaps with cinnamon chips in them, but I've had dozens of requests for the recipe. I made them with splenda, and they came out amazing with only 30 calories in each little cookie. Definitely the best choice on the cookie plate. Of course, not if you eat 5 cookies at a time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Excellent recipe - this has a very unique and delicious taste. They were a big hit at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I only use half of the ginger and nutmeg, otherwise, I think they are overpowering. I also refrigerate the dough before I scoop it and roll it in the sugar. They turn out great! Everyone at work loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Don't know where I went wrong but these were not that great. I bake every week, dozens every week and I was looking forward to this one but they weren't stiff so I just dropped them on a sheet...flat, flat, flat. Only thing I did different was not use the amount of salt indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
These cookies are so chewy, spicy, and good. I used 3 sticks of butter (eeek, good thing it makes a lot of cookies!) in place of the 1.5 cups of shortening and reduced the salt to three-quarters of a tsp. and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States