Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made these tonight -- only change I made was to use 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp Cinnamon Plus (kind of like Apple Pie Spice). I also was short on Molasses, so only used 3 oz. instead of 4 oz. with no impact on flavor. Consistency of dough was perfect -- used a teaspoon cookie scoop and got more than 6 dozen cookies. I also sprayed my cookie sheet very lightly with Pam since I wasn't using a non-stick sheet. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These cookies were excellent! I made half a batch and took them into work, they were gone in less than a hour and people were wondering where they could get more. So simple to make and a big bonus with the twist on the usual molasses cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These cookies were just okay for us. Not great, but not awful. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These baked up pretty, delicious and crackly. I followed the recipe exactly. I had no problem rolling the dough into balls or the sugar. I tend to like thicker cookies, so on the last cookie sheet I tried not flattening the cookie dough balls at all and, interestingly, it made no difference whatsoever. They're light, just barely crispy and chewy all at once, and almost literally melt in your mouth. One thing they're NOT, however, and what made me somewhat disappointed with them, is cinnamon-y! I'm not so much disappointed in the recipe, I guess, as I am with my own expectations. The title does begin with "Cinnamon," and I based my expectations on that and the cinnamon chips - I should have had foresight, I suppose, and noticed there was no cinnamon in the dough. In keeping with the "Cinnamon Cookie" idea, were I to make these again I'd try backing off on both the nutmeg and ginger, and add a good amount of cinnamon instead. This made a LOT of dough, way more than I needed. But it worked out well because I gave half the dough to a busy friend to bake with her daughter and she was thrilled! Just another thought...with vanilla extract as pricey as it is, I have my doubts as to whether 2 T. is necessary. I'd bet that with all the spice in the cookie that you'd notice no difference if that was reduced to 2 teaspoons. Additionally, the lesser amount of liquid may be all that's needed to help those who found the dough difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I bought a bag of cinnamon chips awhile back, because I had never seen them before- and I finally found a recipe to use them! First off, I didn't have shortening, and it turned out I was a little short on butter- so I used margarine. Next time I will use butter, because everytime I use margarine for cookies- the consistency is a little too "cake-like" for my taste. I followed the rest of the recipe, except I didn't have ginger- so I added a little allspice. The recipe said to use an ungreased cookie sheet, and I normally use Pam- this time I didn't, and the cookies were a little difficult to get off the sheet. Also, like all the other people said, the dough was definitely not stiff. I tried putting it in the freezer for 15 minutes since I was short on time- but it still was not stiff enough to be able to roll into balls. So, I dropped the scoops onto the sheet and then sprinkled with sugar...they didn't come out as 'pretty' as other people have said, only cuz I couldn't roll them in sugar. BUT, overall...they taste pretty yummy! The house smelled like Christmas time while they were baking. I will be making them again, but will try to fix the problems I had the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These are amazing!!! I adjusted the spices a bit, only about a scant teaspoon nutmeg and I added cinnamon. Also, I used white whole wheat flour. I used mostly earth balance buttery spread and some coconut oil instead of shortening. This is one of the best cookie recipes I've ever made. I'm sure if I'd had the cinnamon chips it would have been even better. Seriously amazing cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
a very tasty spice cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Lewis
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Instead of adding cinnamon chips, i just added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and chocolate chip =) yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Lewis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
These are so good! I used butter-flavored shortening just because I felt like it (ha!). Not only do these taste fantastic, but they are really pretty too! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Pretty good cookies. I like the cinnamon chips, but they are sweet, so I'd scale back on the sugar next time by about 1/2 a cup. With all of the sugar in the dough and rolling in sugar, it was just a tad too much for me. Otherwise, these are easy and good. The dough is more soft than stiff but it's easy to work, so it's all good to me. Rather than searching 20 stores for cinnamon chips (not my idea of a good time!) I learned on the Recipe Exchange that Hershey has a product locator. Incidently, so does Nestle but they don't make cinnamon chips. You can figure out if anywhere near you sells cinnamon chips by going to this website Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States