Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
delicious! made exactly as written. definitely wasn't thick enough to roll so I simply scooped the dough onto the pans and sprinkled with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very nice cookies. I found the Hershey's Cinnamon Chips at an Albertson's store in north Seattle. My question is what is 'light molasses'? I've never heard of it and can't find it in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The BEST cookie! Only change I made was Black Strap Molassas, I didn't have The light. WOW the flavor was fantastic, I will make these again as they are all gone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Pribel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very tasty and the smell when it's done baking is AMAZING, but this is way too much salt for the recipe. Everyone complained that it was too salty.. next time I'll only put half as much salt if not less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronchu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are 5 star in flavor. After reading through all of the reviews I went ahead and used ALL butter instead of shortening. The flavor was great, the only problem was that my cookies turned out extremely flat. Next time, I think I'll try half butter, half butter flavored shortening and hope for better looking cookies. Thanks for the recipe! It took me a whole year to make them because in my area there were NO cinnamon chips to be had. This year we hit the jackpot and my hoarding kicked in, so we're set for awhile now with 12 bags. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic cookie! I did sub butter for the shortening, only because of personal preference. I didn't expect the dough to be stiff because of the butter substitution, so I just dropped them onto cookie sheets. None of my local stores carried cinnamon chips, so I just added the cinnamon into the cookie batter, used butterscotch chips, and then sprinkled the cookies with cinammon sugar before baking. I did cut the reicpe in half and am glad I did because it makes a LOT of cookies. These cookies will now be part of my holiday cookie tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Did anyone find the 4 tsp of baking soda unusual? I made a batch and all I could taste was the baking soda in the cookies. I found a similar recipe that only uses 1 1/2 tsp. Maybe I'm overly sensitive since I don't see other reviews with a similar experience, but next time I'm going to cut it down to 2 tsp and see how they taste. It completely overpowered all the spices for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
As other reviewers have stated, the cinnamon chips are difficult to find. Luckily, I had found a bag in my travels and I think the next time I find some I will do what a baker friend of mine does, which is freeze a couple bags. I made as recipe as written, next time I may add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon, possibly cut the sugar by a 1/2 cup and I might try converting them to an oatmeal cookie, as I love the texture that oats add to a cookie. Thank you Linda for sharing this recipe! My husband is extremely grateful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Good, easy and most importantly, a great way to use up my cinnamon chips I had purchased with no idea what to do with them. I followed the recipe exactly, although I didn't flatten the cookies. Mine didn't turn out quite as crackled looking and stayed pretty high so they are quite chewy (which we like). I made these for a school bake sale and I think they will be a nice change from the typical choc chip and brownies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These cookies were nice and chewy. I added about 1/2 teaspoon more ginger and an overflowing teaspoon of cloves to the batter. I was surprised at how soft the dough was - not stiff at all. I was able to scoop it in my cookie scoop and then roll the dough in cinnamon sugar. I'm not really crazy about using all shortening in a cookie recipe, so if I make them again I'll try using half butter and half shortening. I'll also add some cinnamon into the dough and increase the flour a bit to make it a bit stiffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States