Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Using the scoop-and-level method for measuring flour (and not sifting), I found the dough to be a perfect density for the method as written. Suggestions: try smaller balls than the walnut-size suggested; roll lightly in your palms after dipping into sugar; use parchment paper; bake ONLY until edges are firm and cookies are still puffy (6 minutes in my oven); and follow the author's advice to remove at once and cool on racks (where cookies will deflate and produce the crinkled effect). When I halved the recipe, doubled the cinnamon, omitted ginger, and substituted some butter for some of the shortening, it yielded 3 dozen cookies, with a nice combination of crisp and chewy, and strong cinnamon flavor. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Loved these. Found the cinnamon chips as a seasonal item and stocked up. Changes made were, to use 1 cup of shortening and 1/2 C of butter. Cut the vanilla back to 1 TBSP, 1 tsp of nutmeg and per other reviews, added in a tsp of cinnamon. Otherwise everything else was perfect. Baked for 9 minutes and with my small cookie scoop, got 76 cookies out of this batch. All were uniform and about 2 1/2 inches across. Tastes better the next day, the spices really come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love these cookies! I made a couple of changes though. I cannot buy cinnamon chips in my area so I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the batter. I'm not a fan of shortening so I subbed butter (not margarine!) The taste is to die for! Also - because I am a cinnamon freak - I rolled the dough balls in cinnamon sugar before baking. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I didn't care for these. It's not my type of cookie to begin with, but I figured it's the pefect time to try these. Thanksgiving! they were good, but just not for me. Too spicy, too much going on. I prefer delicious, more simpler tasting cookies. But if you like spice in cookies, definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by TRISKELE
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just made these and they are a good cookie, but I'm not as excited about them as I had hoped. I think it's the after taste of molasses that I'm not enjoying so much; I've never cooked with molasses before and I'm guessing it's just a personal preference thing. Having said that, the cookies turned out beautiful and were super easy to make. I did use 3 sticks of unsalted butter because I couldn't bring myself to eat shortening in a cookie, used half white and half brown sugar, added 2 tsp. of my prized Vietnamese cinnamon to the dough, and cut the baking soda and salt in half. I also rolled the cookies in cinnamon sugar, rather than just sugar. The cookies are gorgeous, not flat and thin, the dough was nice and stiff (yes, even using all butter), and they baked up perfectly in 12 minutes. I would try this recipe again leaving the molasses out and I imagine that would make this a five-star recipe for me. Thanks! It was great to try something new. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Wonderful! My new favorite ginger cookie. Half batch makes 4 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Wow these are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
These may be my new favorite cookies! I just ate 2 of them still warm from the oven with a glass of cold milk. Only made 1/2 a recipe. Probably won't last long.I mixed about a tablespoon of cinnamon with the sugar and rolled the dough ball in it like a snickerdoodle. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I used half butter and half shortening. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryannelamarre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
For me you can never get enough spice in a cookie so these are perfect. I did use butter in place of the shortening and added some crystalized root ginger. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States