Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These really are delicious! I used butter flavored shortening and used regular molasses, but kept everything else the same. These are like a soft chewy gingersnap. They were better the next day also. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Nice cookie. I used mostly butter and 1/4 of the shortening, otherwise followed exactly. My non-spice hubby says that they are pretty good, that's a compliment. I think they are a bit too sweet, otherwise very good. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
WOW!!! These are my new favorite cookies with molasses! I halved the recipe but I still added almost a whole bag of cinnamon chips. They are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and ended with 5 dozen cookies exactly using a medium scoop. I liked the actual flavor of the cookies, but the taste of cinnamon chips left much to be desired. They sort of taste like white chocolate chips with mild cinnamon flavor. Although I'm not a fan of cinnamon chips, I can see myself making these cookies again without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I'm surprised at the reviews on these cookies. They just are not that great. I cut back the nutmeg and ginger to 1 1/2 tsps each and they are still pretty overpowered with spice. Plus the flavors just do not blend well. I'm not sure what it is. My husband described it as something really good in with something bad that just ruins the cookie. The rest of the family said they were OK and some really liked them but I still won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
It was difficult tracking down a grocery store that carried cinnamon chips, but I finally found them at Lucky's. It was worth the search! These cookies are so good. Spicy, but still sweet enough that my kids loved them! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A refreshing change from the traditional "gingersnap" cookie. Wow! Still have that yummy spiciness, but with the cinnamon chips... Brilliant! Used my trademark Butter Flavor Crisco. And, tossed in a bit more of recommended spices. Presented beautifully!! Can't wait to serve these at Xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These are very good cookies with a taste all their own. I only made two minor changes, and that was to use margarine instead of shortening(I personally don't like using shortening for cookies) and I also only used 1 tsp of nutmeg and ginger. My dough was not "stiff" as was indicated it would be. The dough was too gooey to roll so I just scooped it out using my Tablespoon cookie scoop like any other cookie and sprinkled them with sugar before I put them in the oven. Oh, and one other thing, I could not find light molasses, so I used regular. The cookies turned out excellent! This recipe is a keeper! I will definately make them again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Hufford
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These cookies are fabulous. I only had blackstrap molasses so the taste may have been a bit stronger, but we all agreed that they taste fantastic. This one will be added to my holiday baking, but is good any time of year. It is hard finding the cinnamon chips. My grocer told me they only carry them at Christmas so if you find them, stock up on a few bags!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I absolutely love these cookies!! I am a big fan of any spice cookie, but these are now my new favorite! These will defintely be in my list of cookies to make during the holiday season!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States