Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic cookie! I did sub butter for the shortening, only because of personal preference. I didn't expect the dough to be stiff because of the butter substitution, so I just dropped them onto cookie sheets. None of my local stores carried cinnamon chips, so I just added the cinnamon into the cookie batter, used butterscotch chips, and then sprinkled the cookies with cinammon sugar before baking. I did cut the reicpe in half and am glad I did because it makes a LOT of cookies. These cookies will now be part of my holiday cookie tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Did anyone find the 4 tsp of baking soda unusual? I made a batch and all I could taste was the baking soda in the cookies. I found a similar recipe that only uses 1 1/2 tsp. Maybe I'm overly sensitive since I don't see other reviews with a similar experience, but next time I'm going to cut it down to 2 tsp and see how they taste. It completely overpowered all the spices for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
As other reviewers have stated, the cinnamon chips are difficult to find. Luckily, I had found a bag in my travels and I think the next time I find some I will do what a baker friend of mine does, which is freeze a couple bags. I made as recipe as written, next time I may add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon, possibly cut the sugar by a 1/2 cup and I might try converting them to an oatmeal cookie, as I love the texture that oats add to a cookie. Thank you Linda for sharing this recipe! My husband is extremely grateful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Good, easy and most importantly, a great way to use up my cinnamon chips I had purchased with no idea what to do with them. I followed the recipe exactly, although I didn't flatten the cookies. Mine didn't turn out quite as crackled looking and stayed pretty high so they are quite chewy (which we like). I made these for a school bake sale and I think they will be a nice change from the typical choc chip and brownies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These cookies were nice and chewy. I added about 1/2 teaspoon more ginger and an overflowing teaspoon of cloves to the batter. I was surprised at how soft the dough was - not stiff at all. I was able to scoop it in my cookie scoop and then roll the dough in cinnamon sugar. I'm not really crazy about using all shortening in a cookie recipe, so if I make them again I'll try using half butter and half shortening. I'll also add some cinnamon into the dough and increase the flour a bit to make it a bit stiffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Did not like these at all. Thought they were dry and lacking in flavor. Might be better with some kind of icing or frosting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These are good cookies, but I feel as though the title was somehow misleading. I was expecting a cinnamon cookie with some other spices, but it really was just a spice cookie with cinnamon chips. Again, a good cookie, just not what I expected. I even subbed cinnamon for some of the other spices and I could barely tell it was in there. For those of you looking for Cinnamon Chips, I had to order them on Amazon.com. None of the other grocery stores (Wal-mart, Kroger or Whole Foods) around me carried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I just bit into the best spice cookie EVER. I followed the recipe exactly except that my molasses wasn't light, and I lessened the ginger and nutmeg in order to add 2 t of cinnamon. The dough was just right for rolling into balls and then into cinnamon/sugar. Baked them on a silicon sheet. My husband took one bite and said "Wow!" They are so, so, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
these are addictive! I used 2 tsps cinnamon and 2 tsps pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg and ginger, rolled them in cinnamon sugar (1 tsp cinnamon and 3/8 cup sugar) 1 tbsp scoop made 102 cookies, 10 minutes was perfect on silpat liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Beautiful cookies(mine took longer to bake, 12 min), easy dough to work with, I just didn't care for the flavor at all. I think it's purely a personal thing-I didn't like the taste of the dough, the smell of them baking, or the finished product. My oldest son liked them so now he has A TON of cookies all to himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States