Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was looking for a cookie recipe that would use the cinnamon chips I picked up on a whim. I'm not really a molasses cookie fan but picked this one because all the other spices sounded like they would make a good cookie (and it has a lot of good reviews). I used regular molasses as I didn't have any light molasses, and used butter instead of shortening. I also ended up adding just a touch more flour as the dough did not seem 'stiff' as the recipe says it should be. I did have a little trouble with the tops not cracking on the first couple batches. Next time I'll use a little more flour and and a touch more soda and maybe let the dough sit just for a little while before baking them. Regardless these got rave reviews at the office Christmas cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
kinda like a cinnamon chip ginger bread cookie... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I used 1 cup of shortening and 1/2 cup butter. I just didn't have enough shortening. These cookies are very good. They remind me of the gigersnaps I ate as a kid only not as spicy or crunchy hard. I love how soft they are. These are my new favorite "gingersnap" cookies. P.S. Took the to work then extra day since there were so many of them. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made these for my coworkers and they got rave reviews. These cookies are absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe to the letter. I'm already planning on making more and freezing them (after the baked cookies are completely cooled) for the occasional snack. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious! I substituted refined coconut oil for the shortening to get rid of the trans fat and they were chewy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made 8 kinds of Christmas cookies this December, by far these were my favorite. I could eat them all day long! Only change I made was using cinnamon instead of the ginger and nutmeg. Everyone said these were addictive! I love Hershey's Cinnamon Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
These weren't "to die for" cookies as I'd hoped, however, they were still good. I added about 3 tablespoons of cinnamon before I got the cinnamon-y taste I was looking for, and eliminated the nutmeg in lieu of a couple shakes of cloves and pumpkin pie spice I wanted to use up. I used butter instead of shortening and used half baking soda/half baking powder as I didn't want a flat, greasy cookie. Dough was easy to work with and roll out. My 5 year-old DD helped me roll them in cinnamon sugar. They baked up into cute little cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used margarine and my dough was soft. I just dropped by spoonfuls onto the cookie sheets. LOVED these! My favorite spice cookie now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Wonderful! These will replace plain old gingersnaps in my cookie repertoire. I did not find the dough to be very stiff, but it was easy to use a medium-sized scoop to make balls and roll them quickly in sugar. My cookies were a bit larger - 8 per sheet pan. I doubt I'll wait until Christmas to make them again - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used margarine instead of shortening and found the dough to be much too sticky to handle. This was also probably why the cookies turned out very flat and the tops didn't crackle. The cookies certainly had a good taste even if they weren't the prettiest things to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States