Cinnamon Spice Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe almost to the T. I used butter instead of shortning and since I had not dark brown sugar I used all light, and they turned out excellent. This recipe made 26 large cookies scooped with my ice cream scooper. An excellent fall cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were great, I followed the recipe exactly! I made them as part of our cookie exchange and everyone loved them. These will be on our list for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Following the recipe exactly as written, these were the most amazing cookies I've ever made! I have to say...if a guy made me these and then served them warm with a scoop of vanilla or maple walnut ice cream and caramel sauce drizzled over top...I'd say yes to them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Way to go Rodnobi! Sure hope you notice this review of your SPECTACULAR cookies. I cannot speak highly enough of your recipe, let alone these cookies. I don't use butter-flavored shortening so I just used the traditional type and I prepared the dough exactly as specified. I would do precisely the same thing next time - to do otherwise would be messing with perfection. I did NOT, however, grease the cookie sheets. Perfectly spiced, perfectly cinnamony, perfectly tender, light, crispy and chewy. Perfectly beautiful too. This is just a perfect cookie all the way around! I used Hershey's cinnamon chips which I know are only sold in limited regions of the country. But the cinnamon chips are really essential in this cookie so if you can, do seek them out rather than eliminating them or making substitutions. While it may be pricey to order them online, I've seen them at King Arthur Flour, Calico Bean Market and on Amazon. One of the better cookies I've ever made, above average in my opinion. Great "cookie-jar" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I used butter instead of shortening. And I replaced 2 cups of the all-purpose flour with 2 cups whole-wheat pastry flour. These are so soft, plump, easy, and yummy. In a word AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
These cookies are wonderful!! Yum! A great use of cinnamon chips, which I love. My 4 year old named them "The Best cookie in the world". I halved the receipe and still got 3 dozen good size cookies (using a large cookie scoop). I used parchament paper on the cookie sheets, and did use the pecans chopped finely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Oh man! If you could only have smelled my house while these were baking. I could hardly wait to get them out of the oven. Perfect consitency. Not too fluffy or flat. Just a nice melt in your mouth piece of Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I loved this cookie...and so did all in the cookie exchange! I too added more cinnamon...and I couldn't find any cinnamon chips, so I used white chocolate chips instead. A full flavor cookie...loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEIGHANNA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I love these cookies! They're a bit off the beaten path and so tasty. I did a few things differently out of necessity, though. I only had light brown sugar, so I added a tablespoon of molasses to compensate. Also, instead of 1 1/2 cups of Butter Flavor Crisco, I used 1 cup of regular shortening and 1/2 cup of softened butter. This produced a cookie that may be a bit different in texture from what was intended (a little flatter, a little crisper around the edges). The one thing I would change, and this may be because I used salted butter, is to reduce the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. Still, very very very tasty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are the best new cookies I've found in a long time! I followed the recipe exactly, and they were a huge hit with family and friends. Nice and chewy, which is hard to find in cookie recipes -- maybe it's all the brown sugar! I think these would be almost as delicious with chocolate chips, if I didn't have any cinnamon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States