Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is an incredibly awesome recipe. These biscuits are some of the best I've ever made or eaten, hands down. I was concerned that my family wouldn't like them, mostly because of the raisins, so I kneaded half of the raisins into half of the dough, and then kept the other dough and made plain cinnamon biscuits. It really wasn't necessary to do this, because the raisin ones were gone super fast! I didn't make any changes to the recipe other than that, and they came out super tender, golden brown, and delicious, with crispy edges and melt-in-your-mouth tender middles. The cinnamon flavor was pleasant, not overpowering, with the perfect sweetness. They were a huge hit...I'll definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and made these to go with my Quiche Lorraine this morning, just on a last minute whim. I used half whole wheat flour, I added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, I used butter and nonfat plain yogurt instead of margerine and sour cream and because I was out of raisins, I used dried blueberries. I patted this into a large circle, then cut it into pieces like scones. Mine were done at ten minutes, but my oven runs kind of hot. I did change up the drizzle just a bit, I added just a little butter to the confectioners sugar and used lemon juice instead of milk. The family thought these were great. My husband compared these to our local Fair scones, texture-wise, which is a huge compliment, I was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I made these the night before and cut them into biscuits and put them in the refrigerator on the baking sheet. I baked them in the morning at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. They turned out great! Flaky and delicious. I did double the sugar and cinnamon like the other reviewers suggested and used shortening because I didn't have margarine. I served them with cinnamon honey butter and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These biscuits are absolutely scrumptious! Per the other reviews, I doubled the cinnamon and sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. They were gone very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I printed this recipe years before finally trying it. Wow! did I miss out on one delicious treat. I kept to the recipe as written, with the exception of butter instead of margarine. Yummy. Maybe these biscuits ARE better with more cinnamon and sugar, like others suggested, but they're pretty darn good as written, too. Great for breakfast, after-school snack, late night treat--anytime. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very tasty. I also doubled the cinnamon and sugar and used a combination of sour cream and yogurt since I ran out of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I made this as written except I doubled the cinnamon. My dough was a little runny so i ended up doing these as drop biscuits but they were still delicious! I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
very good! i added a bit more sugar and a pinch of nutmeg too. i'll be keeping this recipe, and recommending it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baaramewe
Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Wonderful! Sorry I messed with it a little. The only thing I did different was added a pinch of nutmeg and a cap full of vanilla. Yum! My husband is not a big biscuit eater [ I know he's nuts :) ] But he enjoyed these. I'll be making again. I got 10 fat biscuits out of the recipe. I made these again tonight. But instead of sweet I went more savory by adding garlic, parsley, and grated chedder cheese. It was good, but I'll stick with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My kid's loved these,Simple and the didnt even complain about the rasins being them.i will make this again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States