Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
We loved these! They're a new family favorite. To make them lower fat, use fat free sour cream, fat free milk, and only 1/4 stick reduced fat butter. Yes, they will not be the ultra flaky, really really yummy kind, as I'm sure they would be if you made them the way the recipe states, but if you're on a low-fat diet, then give it a try this way! They are amazing! (Oh, and one *little* thing I changed was to use white whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose. Works great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
excellent! admittedly, i did make a number of changes, but none of them changed the essential proportions, which is the most important part of a biscuit recipe. i used butter (why anyone would every use margarine is beyond me), replaced 1/2 white flour with whole wheat, and because i was mysteriously out of raisins, i used craisins. i don't like frosted baked goods for breakfast, so i brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled the biscuits with cinnamon sugar before baking which gave them a nice crunch. i can't wait to make them again (maybe even with raisins!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I did not enjoy these biscuits. They were remarkably flavorless and neither moist nor fluffy in the least. I have had success with other biscuit recipes but would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These biscuits are great! A wonderful treat to grab for breakfast. I doubled the cinnamon and sugar as others did before me and they are still not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Yum! These were perfect. I LOVE cinnamon, so I doubled that, and doubled the sugar since they were for dessert. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is an incredibly awesome recipe. These biscuits are some of the best I've ever made or eaten, hands down. I was concerned that my family wouldn't like them, mostly because of the raisins, so I kneaded half of the raisins into half of the dough, and then kept the other dough and made plain cinnamon biscuits. It really wasn't necessary to do this, because the raisin ones were gone super fast! I didn't make any changes to the recipe other than that, and they came out super tender, golden brown, and delicious, with crispy edges and melt-in-your-mouth tender middles. The cinnamon flavor was pleasant, not overpowering, with the perfect sweetness. They were a huge hit...I'll definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I cut this recipe in half and made these to go with my Quiche Lorraine this morning, just on a last minute whim. I used half whole wheat flour, I added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, I used butter and nonfat plain yogurt instead of margerine and sour cream and because I was out of raisins, I used dried blueberries. I patted this into a large circle, then cut it into pieces like scones. Mine were done at ten minutes, but my oven runs kind of hot. I did change up the drizzle just a bit, I added just a little butter to the confectioners sugar and used lemon juice instead of milk. The family thought these were great. My husband compared these to our local Fair scones, texture-wise, which is a huge compliment, I was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I made these the night before and cut them into biscuits and put them in the refrigerator on the baking sheet. I baked them in the morning at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. They turned out great! Flaky and delicious. I did double the sugar and cinnamon like the other reviewers suggested and used shortening because I didn't have margarine. I served them with cinnamon honey butter and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These biscuits are absolutely scrumptious! Per the other reviews, I doubled the cinnamon and sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. They were gone very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I printed this recipe years before finally trying it. Wow! did I miss out on one delicious treat. I kept to the recipe as written, with the exception of butter instead of margarine. Yummy. Maybe these biscuits ARE better with more cinnamon and sugar, like others suggested, but they're pretty darn good as written, too. Great for breakfast, after-school snack, late night treat--anytime. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States