Cinnamon Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made these by hand since my bread machine was broken. I warmed up the milk, water and butter in the pan and then added it to a bowl with the yeast where i let it stand for 10 minutes. I then added the flour, eggs and salt all at the same time, unlike other reviewers I didn't think there was too much liquid, I was able to turn the dough out and kneed with maybe 1/4 cup of flour just to keep my hands coated. i left in a cold oven over night and baked the next day for 18 minutes, they were wonderful and I have made them many times since, great each time. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This is Stephanie. Thank you for all the nice comments! HALVE THE RECIPE for bread machines or it will overflow. I wanted to clarify: warm milk, water & butter (I use the microwave), add egg(s), flour, yeast, sugar & salt to machine. Brush melted butter over dough, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, raisins/nuts (optional). I cut the rolls with dental floss (wrap floss around roll, tie pulling floss so it slices the dough as you make a knot). Now, I only bake them for 18-20 minutes. I've never measured milk for the frosting, I just add a little at a time until it's a nice spreading consistency. UPDATE I use brown sugar for the filling now because we prefer them gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I have had great luck freezing before raising or baking. Then, when I am ready to eat them, I put them in the oven on warm to thaw and rise. When they have risen enough I bake as usual. They're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I did 1/2 of the recipe. It fit in my bread machine perfectly and made one dozen, large and yummy rolls. Using the bread machine makes this recipe so easy. I refrigerated the rolls overnight and baked in the morning for a quick and easy breakfast that the entire family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
These cinnamon rolls were wonderful! I don’t always have the best luck with yeast so this is the trick I’ve learned…in a measuring cup I heated ½ cup of the water and stirred in 2 Tbs. yeast and ½ tsp of sugar. I covered it with a small plate to allow it to foam. When it’s foamed up about 2 inches or more I use it, but it will continue to foam if you leave it and should only take about 5 minutes to begin foaming. While the yeast was sitting, I heated the butter, milk and only ½ cup of the water (minus the ½ cup for the yeast). I don’t have a bread machine, so I did it the old fashioned way…by hand! I mixed together the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, & salt) and then added the butter mixture, yeast (foam and all), and eggs. I mixed it well and had to add quite a bit of extra flour while kneading. I greased a bowl, covered it, and put it in a warm place to rise. After about an hour it was ready for step #2 in the recipe. Hope this helps with the yeast problems. I added extra cinnamon-sugar and sprinkled extra cinnamon on. Yum! The extra cinnamon was perfect for us; not too sweet, but sweet enough. The rolls were light and so soft. This recipe wasn’t too difficult and gave me delicious results. Thanks for the post Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
These rolls are great. They are light and fluffy. I liked them better than "Clone of Cinnabon" because they are not as gooey and the dough is easier to work and form. Next time I'm going to add some brown sugar with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Tried this recipe, might not have used the right size bread machine. Used 2lbs. bread pan in machine and the recipe did not work, way too much dough for the machine to handle, cut it in half for the bread machine, dough came out extremely gooey, had to use lots of flour. Not as good as I thought it would be according to the other raters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEVSMITH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is the first time I have ever made cinnamon rolls from scratch, and now my husband will never let me buy the ready to bake rolls again. I had to add a little more flour also. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I have to say, these are the BEST cinnamon rolls! My entire family agrees. THANKS, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Everybody just loves these rolls. When I make them I take a day and make 6-8 dozen to share with friends and neighbors. They are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States