Cinnamon Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were fabulous! Simple & quick. Few minor alterations: 1c whole wheat flour, 2 white plus 2tb wheat gluten, 1tb ground flax & 2tb wheat germ. I make it in my stand mixer, warmed the water, butter & milk to 120 degrees then added the yeast and let sit for 10mins. Only used 2tbsp butter which was more then enough, and added a bit of brown sugar to the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Let sit in the fridge over night and baked in the morning. I was skeptical because they were so easy, but they were fantastic! My husband who doesn't often prefer homemade over store bought asked for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These rolls were very easy to make and I made it exactly has the recipe said to. Next time I might make just a couple of changes. In the filling I think I'll use brown sugar instead of white and add more cinnamon. I wanted to serve these for breakfast for our guests, but I didn't want to get up super early. So I made them a couple days in advance and after I rolled them up and sliced them I put them in a baking pan and put them in the freezer. The night before I made them I pulled them out of the freezer and let them thaw and rise over night. It turned out perfectly! I will make these again for the next time we have guests come visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYISME19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I have made other cinnamon rolls that are much better than this one, but this is still tasty- the thing that bothered me about it though is that there wasn't nearly enough filling or icing. I only had enough icing for half of the buns and the filling wasn't gooey like a regular cinnamon bun. I would say double the filling and icing part and these will be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
at last, i found the perfect cinnamon rolls recipe. tried it the other day, while i'm off from work. i used 3 1/4 cups bread flour instead of all purpose flour. since i don't have a bread machine, i made this by hand. but still it tastes good. 2 thumbs up. thanks stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These are probably the best cinnamon rolls I have ever had! First time I followed the directions and they were great. Made three more batches this week with the following changes. I used 1 cup of milk, added 1 tsp vanilla to the milk, 2T soft butter and 1 egg to my bread maker, then 3c of all purpose flour, 1/4 c white sugar, 3/4 tsp salt. and 2 1/2 tsp of instant yeast. Then followed directions for sweet dough cycle of bread machine. When it was done, I turned onto floured board and rolled into a rectangle. For the "swirl" I used 1/2 c of brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 3 T. melted butter, I added 1 cup of raisins that I put in a bowl of hot water and microwaved for about 30 seconds to plump them. I brushed the dough with melted butter and sprinkled with the cin/sug. Rolled tightly and with super sharp knife I cut in half and then into 12 rolls. Placed 6 each in greased round cake pans, covered one with plastic and put in fridge, the second into the freezer. The first pan did an overnite rise, and in the morning I took it out and while oven was preheating I let it rise a bit more. These are melt in your mouth good. Please note, with the original recipe these are still the best I have ever had, so the changes aren't necessary for superb rolls. It's just fun to tweak this a bit to make it mine, just as many of you will tweak it to make it yours. Either way, you have got to make these! Your family will proclaim you Queen of the Kitchen (or King)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I only use whole wheat flour for my recipes. I think that's why my rolls didn't turn out as moist. But, I will still give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I am beside myself with giddiness right now. lol I have never in my life made a yeast bread. I've always been too scared. They seemed SO intimidating. I made these today because cinnamon rolls are my hubby's favorite, but I didn't tell him I was doing it because I was honestly afraid they would be an epic fail on my part. They just came out of the oven 15 minutes ago and I frosted them. Just had my first bite. Heaven! They are simply some of the best cinnamon rolls I have ever eaten. They are SO light and airy and they nearly melt in your mouth. I cannot wait for DH to get off work and get home to surprise him with them. I will NEVER ever go back to premade or tube cinnamon rolls after this. These are literally 10-15 minutes of hands on time is all. And the rest is done by the bread machine! I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe! LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I honestly cannot imagine anyone giving this recipe less than 5 stars. I did double the cinnamon-sugar filling and added quite a bit of extra cinnamon (our personal preference in CRs) and I doubled the icing. Again, just our personal preference. These are simply fantastic!!! TY TY TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Prothro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Unfortunately, will keep looking for a cinnamon bun recipe as this one ended up sitting on the counter for days until the dog got them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I followed the dough part of this recipe exactly, I have given the recipe 4* as even though they are a wonderful tasty cinnamon roll, the dough is quite difficult to handle. Once removed from the bread machine, had to kneed with quite a bit more flour to make it less sticky For the cinnamon center I did use brown sugar instead of white (Thought this was more traditional), rolled and cut the rolls, placed in the baking dish then I let rise for a further 30 minutes before coving with wrap and leaving in the fridge overnight. Following morning I pulled the rolls out of the fridge and left on the counter for 45 minutes to bring to room temperature before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I used 1 cup milk instead of adding water and doubled the filling and icing. I shared with my neighbor, now she wants the recipe as well. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States