Cinnamon Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Way too much sugar and the recipe is for a big family not for a couple. I started cutting it in half but goofed and started using the full recipe mix so continued making the full amount. Sorry to say my wife and grandchild did not like it. Now I have two pans of rolls and I'm diabetic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I only made 1/2 the recipe to make 1 pan. Put in fridge the night before, took out of oven in the morning, and allowed to rise for 1 hour. It rose even more compared to the AR video. The icing tasted just right but would have to agree with other reviewers to use the whole block of cream cheese for 2 pans. Tasted great but still prefer cinnamon rolls with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Joe Dawson
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe turned out great cinnamon rolls. Makes 24 full size rolls - you might want to reduce accordingly. I made the full recipe but ended up using only half the recommended quantity of cinnamon and brown sugar; that's all that would fit on the rolled out dough. Next time I plan to double the width of each rolled out portion (to 12 x 18 instead of 12 x 9, but only half the thickness) and roll the 12" side inwards(as before). That would accommodate the full measure of cinnamon and brown sugar. You may need more butter if you do that. Next time I'll cool the milk mixture to 110F and add the yeast. Also, I'll add a bit more flour than was called for before turning the dough out to knead. Mine was too sticky. Kneading more flour in at that point was both time consuming and messy. I may also do it in smaller batches in a food processor. But you may correctly infer from all of my "next times" that I plan to make this recipe on a regular basis. It's a winner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandy Shifflett
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Love it!!!! I added some chopped up apples as well, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Shifflett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I really wish I would have trusted my instincts on this one. I followed the recipe exactly, despite the lack of yeast-proofing and warm liquids. I also ran into the issue of the dough being like a gooey paste and having to add a lot more flour than called for. I was making them ahead, so I put them into the refrigerator at the point specified in the video, despite the lack of a "first rise"......Needless to say, the rolls didn't rise, even a little. I'm still going to put them in the oven, but I'm not at all excited about it. Oh, well. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marrissa
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Love it great I made mine much bigger tho but it was wonderful and the icing is just yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Best recipe ever! It's a keeper, I even doubled it and gifted some of them to my friends. I also stuffed some of them with bananas. However my daughter thinks it can take more cinnamon, and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made this basic recipe several times and have enjoyed the results. However, I went back and read some of the other reviews and decided to incorporate a few of the suggestions just to see how the rolls would turn out with some slight changes. I first followed cory's suggestion to first allow the milk, water and butter mixture to cool and then mix in the sugar and yeast and let it stand for 10 minutes (it got all bubbly and frothy) and then I added the rest of the ingredients. Then I followed mrs.duenes's suggestion of letting the initial dough rest for 10 minutes (for the dough to absorb the flour) before kneading it. Then I let the dough rise after kneading for two hours and then let it rise for two more hours in the morning before baking it. The results were very moist, fluffy and most decadent cinnamon rolls I have ever made. Sometimes it pays to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Ok,I realized that since I use this recipe often with a few changes I should write a review.We LOVE these!! I have five children and these are the all time request.i use the review that GCRIM wrote and rise them for 3 hrs but the difference that I do is I put them on the preheated oven to rise with a towel over all of the cookie sheets together ...they get just enough heat this way. I rotate them periodically to make sure that the ones that are further way from the oven vent get time closer.This makes all of the rolls grand sized.Warning!!! make sure that the rolls are close to touching if not as the rise they will loose all shape and burn.meaning make them no more than 2 inches apart.Oh if you want a completely square dough to work with I found it really easy to do with a pizza cutter to cut the edges to make a square (rectangle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
These are good if you are in a pinch but not my first choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States