Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
These were great! I didn't have ice cream on hand, so used whipping cream and white sugar as someone else had suggested. I also didn't have milk powder, so just used warm 2% milk. I did add 2-3 Tbsp. flour. (I live in a very moist climate and often have to add a little extra flour.) The dough was still real tender, but that took away the stickiness. I didn't have any trouble working with the dough. I only used 1/4 cup butter spread on the dough, and that seemed like plenty. I also put in some extra cinnamon because we love it! I made the dough up on Christmas Eve, left them in the fridge until Christmas morning and we had hot rolls for breakfast. Delicious! 8 year old son hopes I make them every year for Christmas morning. Made another batch the 27th as a gift for a neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
These were absolutely delicious when hot from the oven. I thought the amount of topping was perfect. I was really surprised at how easy it was to work with the dough. I didn't spread on the full amount of butter and added raisins before rolling it up. They were a little dry the second day, but most bread products are. I don't know if using the full amount of butter would have kept the bread more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is an outstanding recipe. I did make a slight change in that I made 1-1/2 times the called for amount of caramel mixture. I wanted to be able to flip the pan after baking and have enough caramel to "ooze" down the sides of the rolls to cover. Also, I found a totally successful resolution to rolling out the sticky dough. I patted it out onto my Silpat cookie baking mat! No sticking whatsoever. If you don't have a Silpat mat, buy one. They're the greatest invention ever for those of us that bake a lot of cookies. They run about $15-$19 each and cover the cookie sheet so you don't have to grease it. Excellent roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Fantastic recipe! On getting to the "sprinkle cinnamon on" part I realized I didn't have any cinnamon!!!! I just carried on with the recipe and called them caramel rolls ;) and everyone absolutely loved them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Simply, hands-down the absolute BEST cinnamon roll recipe EVER! Even better than the clone of a cinnabon recipe that's so highly regarded. I've tried both, and NOTHING compares to this recipe. I do tweak the recipe a bit, though.....I bake the buns in a pan with the caramel sauce on the bottom, and when done baking, I then flip the pan over into a slightly larger pan. That way, the gooey caramel oozes into all the cracks of the buns. I also put a cream cheese frosting over the whole shebang (the one from the clone of a cinnabon recipe). I always get rave reviews when I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Loved them so much and so did the whole family. Definitely a favorite of ours, so much so that we added it to our recipe box for future bakings!!! Thank you! These reminded me of my Great-Grandmother's handmade recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Wow, these are awesome!! Much better than many others I've tried. Will definitely be using this many more times in the future. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! My family devoured these rolls in no time flat. My husband says these are the best cinnamon rolls he's ever had. Thanks for the great recipe! We will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I have tried at least 25 different recipes for cinnamon rolls to find ones that were moist, soft and gooey. This is the only one that I've been wild about. I make them for our clinic about 2x monthly and they're gone by 9AM. I'm careful not to add much or any extra flour and work with the extra-soft dough as it keeps them "melt-in-your-mouth" textured. I mix mine in my Kitchen Aid while making the caramel sauce (which I only cook for about 1 minute or less so it's not so stiff after baking. We like them oozing the caramel. After cooking the sauce for 2 minutes, we found it to be too caramelzed after baking and we had trouble getting it unstuck from our teeth. I never make less than a double batch. It's the first thing family, friends and associates ask for when I say, "What can I bring?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
All I can say is that these cinnamon rolls were perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States