Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! That being said, these are more of a caramel roll, and a little less of a traditional cinnamon roll. I would recommend the Clone of a Cinnabon recipe if you want a traditional cinnamon roll. Also, I used regular milk instead of the powdered milk and they came out great. However, I needed to add quite a bit more flour to make the dough workable. I think even without the addition of regular milk, it may have needed more flour . The Dough is hard to roll. I recommend following the instructions and simply patting into a rectangle. This way the dough will stay soft also. I patted into approx. 12 by 6 rectangle, which made 12 rolls. I think doubling the caramel sauce would also be good. And, I cooked the sauce only 1 minute as another suggested, which was a good idea. It kept the sauce softer. Don't know that I would ice these, although I did consider it. Next time I think the double caramel sauce will suffice in keeping this a traditional caramel roll. I used a little more than 1 tsp of yeast. I don't know why all cinnamon roll recipes say that the dough will rise in 30 minutes. Mine never ever do. It usually takes 2 hours. However, I recommend BEING PATIENT. The last 2 times I made Clone of Cinnabon, I got impatient and tried sticking the dough in a low heat oven, and it ruined the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I love my cinnamon roll recipe - but this was a great change for more of a caramel sticky bun. These were FABULOUS - I added more cinnamon (personal preference), but would not change a thing in this recipe. I made these on Christmas eve, and baked them Christmas morning. This was a wonderful treat for my family. Thank you for sharing this recipe! This recipe gets 10 stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
VERY soft and tasty rolls. Double the gooey stuff. Only criticism is in the name of the recipe...these are NOT cinnamon rolls...they are sticky rolls. Some reviewers have iced the rolls...I think that would be a bit much. The rolls are very sweet as is. Lastly, you can make the recipe the nite before and keep it in the fridge. In the morning, let the pan sit outside for 30 minutes and then bake as the recipe indicates. If your family loves sticky rolls, this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This recipe makes the best homemade cinnamon rolls I have ever had. I do find, like some of the others have said, that it needs a little extra flour. I usually just add about 1 cup extra right from the start. It is a very forgiving recipe, so whether you modify it or not it turns out great. My family and friends love it with the Cinnabon Icing recipe from copykat.com. Thanks for the great recipe, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
First of all, there is no need to double up on the caramel...there is more than enough. Secondly, if you have a breadmaker, you don't have to wait the full two hours to make the dough. Just until it's done mixing. Rolling the dough was a little tricky, but totally do-able (I was worried from the reviews) Spread a little extra butter on the inside of the edges to seal it. It was absolutely fabulous...very gooey and very moist. (don't bother adding more than a couple of tablespoons of extra flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
These are GREAT!! I had a little trouble getting a decent rectangle, and mine didn't look as perfect as the picture, but they tasted divine! I didn't have any icecream so I used heavy cream. Next time I think I will soak some raisins in tea overnight and add them prior to the roll-up stage. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I have tried tons of cinnamon rolls recipes, to find one that was as good as the bakery. I didn't expect to do better. This is fabulous and so easy to make. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This is a VERY yummy recipe that I will keep as a favorite and bake many times for my husband. I did add some chopped walnuts to the sauce. Thank you for a GREAT recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
In a word, AMAZING! I have made this a few times now, the first two times I botched it completely, this time only a little. As always, they came out great! This recipe is so adaptable, I have found myself without a lot of the ingredients but was still able to pull it off. I have used vanilla flavored dried coffee creamer(Coffee Mate) instead of the dried milk and heavy cream instead of the ice cream. I also don't own a Bread Machine, but use my KitchenAid mixer instead. I just use the dough hook and let it go for about 15 mins or so, then let it rest for about 10 before I roll out the dough. Always perfect, just like the ones you get in the mall! MY pickiest eater, a 3 year old devoured them! And he never eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This recipe is a winner. I added pecans and when the oven timer went off I left them in the oven so that the bread wouldn't be doughy. Warning though, don't make them and then go out of town for a day, my friend that fed my dog ate them all. I didn't get a one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARMED_TWICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States