Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I really liked this, I tried it with brown rice which was still good, but I found that I had to extend the cooking time quite a bit. If you try the substitution add the apples later, as mine cooked all the way down! I added some ginger as well, a good side dish or light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is great with apple butter pork loin from this site and different from other side dishes. I found an easier way to make this in the microwave. People were commenting on the apples cooking down and if you do it in the microwave, they don't disappear from the dish. I used Uncle Ben's Ready rice in the pouch which takes 90 seconds. I cooked that first and then put that in a 2 quart casserole dish with all the other ingredients but instead of using 1 1/2 cups of apple juice I used 1 cup of apple juice and 1/2 cup of apple butter. Microwave it on high for 5 minutes and stir then on high for another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
My Husband loved this. My apples cooked all the way down though, you could taste them, they just dissappeared when I stirred the rice. Thanks for the recipe! OH... and I added chopped walnuts, I think that was a very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Husband liked a lot. Made it in the rice cooker with 1 1/2 cups rice, and 2 1/4 cups apple juice (other ingredients left the same). Added more juice after it was done to break it up a little, as it was sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Don't change a thing with this recipe and you'll be in for a treat! I tried the Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops from this website and thought this recipe would go nicely with them. Boy was I right! Our whole family enjoyed this recipe. I was looking for something new to try with rice and this will definitely be a keeper as I can make it year round. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Delicious! I substituted a mix of brown and wild rice. Package directions said to simmer 45 min, so I added apples and everything else 15 min before the end of cooking. I also substituted dried cherries for raisins and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I also used brown rice which the cooking time says right on the box 45min. Added apples about half way done, but I would like to try adding them right from the start to see what happens. Hubby loved this and so did I. I too paired it with the apple butter pork loin.. wow it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was amazing! I paired this one up with the apple butter pork loin..mmmmmm.. what a perfect combo! Definatly a make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this recipe exactly as stated, and I'm giving it four stars because it was pretty good and had definite potential. (Think of my rating as a four-minus.) I liked the combination of cinnamon and apples in this rice, however I think it needed more flavor. Maybe some butter and/or sugar to bring out the apple & cinnamon tastes. I served it with the Caramel Apple Pork Chops recipe from this site and the two went together well (as long as you don't mind cinnamon and apples in both your main dish and side dish.) I'm thinking the leftovers from this rice should make good rice pudding, so I'm going to give that a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
very good. I used a granny smith apple and ocean spray apple juice for the rice. I followed recipe ingredients (no adjustments needed) and cooking instructions to a "T". Rice came out perfectly fluffy, tasty like cinnamon and apple-y rice. It paired nicely with the Brown Sugar Pork Chops, also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States