Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I can see that this could be good with pork chops. I deleted the parsley and used it as a light, not overly sweet desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this recipe exactly as stated, and I'm giving it four stars because it was pretty good and had definite potential. (Think of my rating as a four-minus.) I liked the combination of cinnamon and apples in this rice, however I think it needed more flavor. Maybe some butter and/or sugar to bring out the apple & cinnamon tastes. I served it with the Caramel Apple Pork Chops recipe from this site and the two went together well (as long as you don't mind cinnamon and apples in both your main dish and side dish.) I'm thinking the leftovers from this rice should make good rice pudding, so I'm going to give that a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was a very sweet twist on rice. It reminded me a lot of apple cinnamon oatmeal, minus the oats. This recipe would act better as a dessert rather than a side dish-- it's just a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Don't change a thing with this recipe and you'll be in for a treat! I tried the Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops from this website and thought this recipe would go nicely with them. Boy was I right! Our whole family enjoyed this recipe. I was looking for something new to try with rice and this will definitely be a keeper as I can make it year round. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I really liked this, I tried it with brown rice which was still good, but I found that I had to extend the cooking time quite a bit. If you try the substitution add the apples later, as mine cooked all the way down! I added some ginger as well, a good side dish or light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I really liked this! I made it as a snack, not a side dish. Excellent snack for kids (& toddlers)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This recipe was delicious! It worked very well with dinner, but later I spooned it over vanilla yogurt (kwark for those in Holland) and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
My Husband loved this. My apples cooked all the way down though, you could taste them, they just dissappeared when I stirred the rice. Thanks for the recipe! OH... and I added chopped walnuts, I think that was a very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
A great twist on rice! Served this to my dinner guests and they loved it. So did my picky kids! I served this with baked chicken breast, salad, rolls and asparagus. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This was very good! I served it along side pork sirloin roast as an alternative to the usual mashed potatoes and gravy. I didn't have any raisins or fresh parsley so I substituted with diced celery and dried parlsley flakes. I used a red delicious apple which held up in nice diced cubes and didn't go mushy while cooking. I will definatley make this again and be sure to have raisins on hand nest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States