Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Really yummy side dish and not your normal rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My husband loves this dish. He gets excited when I cook it and requests it. My girl's like it too. My picky one picks out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Good made with the rice cooker and got a little mushy not sure why....still had a nice flavor to go with the brown sugar grilled pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was pretty bland. I used brown rice but that was the only difference. Wouldn't make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
The minute I read this recipe, without even reading the other reviews, I knew exactly how I was going to tweak it. My mother was an excellent cook, and never made plain white rice. She always began by sauteing rice with onion - so that's what I did here. I sauteed the rice (I used Uncle Ben's converted rice) in 1 tablespoon of butter, along with a couple of tablespoons of chopped onion. After about 5 minutes, when the rice was nicely browned, I added apple cider (not juice) along with the other ingredients, and followed the rest of the recipe exactly, using golden raisins and a Granny Smith apple. I cooked it for 20 minutes and let it sit covered for 5, because that is what is called for on the Uncle Ben's box. I thought it was wonderful, and afterward, when I read the other reviews, I think the addition of the butter and the onions cut the sweetness and added that something extra that others found this recipe may have lacked. I made it with the grilled brown sugar pork chops and thought the combination was just too sweet. I would definitely make this with pork chops again, but maybe just simply grilled ones. I wasn't sure how I was going to like the cinnamon flavor in rice, but it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
kids did not like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Ok, the reason this gets only 3 stars is not because of how it tasted, but because it did not call for enough liquid!! I kept having to add more apple juice to get the rice to cook all the way through. Anyone else have this problem?? The taste was very sweet, my kids gobbled it up. I will probably make again, but tweak to give it a more "grownup" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Best rice i've ever had! I didn't use raisins and added another 1/4 cup of apple juice, and also used a firm Fuji apple so they wouldn't break down. Will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I think it was a little too sweet for a side dish. It almost tasted like apple pie! Which idn't a bad thing, but with dinner it might have been too much. Also my rice took a really long time too cook, so I would adjust the time for softer rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yum! We really liked this, even a bit sticky as it got. I used part basmati ricepart regular long-grain white because that's what I had around. Smell is wonderful. I might use part water, part apple juice next time to cut down on the sweetness. It was really tasty, but a bit too sweet for your standard side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States