Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a pretty good recipe but I found that I had to add water to my rice in order to make my rice cook fully. Additionally I did think it was just a little too sweet. I will likely make it again with pork chops, but will reduce the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good, I used Mac Apples and I didn't add any salt or parsley. I didn't have any apple juice so I substituted a Capri sun, strawberry/Kiwi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Yep, yum. Based on other reviews I wanted to add a little butter, and because I had a leek in the fridge, I chopped that up, fried it in butter, then proceeded with the recipe. Will be added to the rotation; tonight it was served alongside the roast sticky rotisserie chicken from this site, the perfect dinner at a fraction the cost of a restaurant meal. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
We thought this was a little bland. The second time I eliminated the salt and added 3/4 - 1 teaspoon chicken broth base. (My preference is Better than Bouillon). I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins and added just a pinch of garlic powder. Also, make sure your cinnamon isn't old. This is a great time of year to replace spices as they frequently go on sale for 50% off. Nice combination of spice & savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Since a lot of the reviews commented about how this was more of a dessert than a side dish, I made a few changes to make it more 'adult' as some of the reviewers were calling it. I used 1/4 c of wild rice, 1/2 c white and put that with the apple juice, 1 1/2 cup of water and raisins in the rice cooker. While that was cooking, I browned 1 medium onion and just before it was done browning I added the apples. Once completed, I added the onion mixture to the rice mixture. Very light, flavorful and a great sidedish to compliment any meal. Next time, I think I will use dried cranberries instead of or mixed with raisins. I have made a similar mixture using pineapple juice. This rice is a great bed to serve salmon on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adoka
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I was walking through Krogers trying to come up with something to feed the family for dinner. I had pork cutlets in the fridge, and the the line "Pork chops and apple sauce" from the Brady Bunch popped into my head. I whipped out my wunderphone and googled apples and rice this is what I chose. It is a very sweet rice dish, and quite a pleasant surprise. The only complaint, and it's mine, everyone else loved it, is that it needed more salt. That may be on me because we typically buy low sodium chicken broth.. But this is a definate "do again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adoka
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This made a real nice change and I did not change anything in the recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Call me crazy but you know, this made an excellent breakfast rice. I used a Granny Smith apple, golden raisins and omitted the parsley and used apple pie spice instead. I did add a couple tbsp. of butter to the apple juice so the rice wouldn't stick to the pan. With a little brown sugar stirred in and a float of FF half-n-half over the top right before serving, this was heaven in a bowl. Even my kids fell in love with it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
We tried this recipe with the Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops, as suggested by other reviewers. It is a keeper, just as written! I used jasmine rice, and let it sit for 10 minutes after cooking, as per cooking instructions for that variety of rice. We thought this would make a nice dessert with a little cream poured over it. Thanks for a great recipe! We'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My family loved this sweet rice for a different change of pace. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States