Cinnamon Rice with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I loved this recipe! Since others had commented that the apples got mushy, I put them in with 10 minutes left in the cooktime. I also added a tablespoon of butter. I will definitely cook this again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Dish was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
really tasty. i've made this a few times now and every time i've had to cook it significantly longer than 17 minutes (more like 25-30).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is great with apple butter pork loin from this site and different from other side dishes. I found an easier way to make this in the microwave. People were commenting on the apples cooking down and if you do it in the microwave, they don't disappear from the dish. I used Uncle Ben's Ready rice in the pouch which takes 90 seconds. I cooked that first and then put that in a 2 quart casserole dish with all the other ingredients but instead of using 1 1/2 cups of apple juice I used 1 cup of apple juice and 1/2 cup of apple butter. Microwave it on high for 5 minutes and stir then on high for another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was ok, a little sweet to me for dinner. I served these like many others, with the grilled brown sugar chops (in my case, pork steaks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I substituted brown rice and it was still yummy. The apple juice I used was cold, so it took longer to cook... 1.5 hours! The liquid boiled off in about 45 min, but the rice was still hard. I had to keep adding water a cup at a time, letting it boil off, until the rice cooked. I was surprised at how long it took, but it was worth the wait. This is really good with the brown sugar pork chops from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was really good and went great with pork chops. I added a tablespoon of butter to it at the end and it cut into the sweetness of the dish just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenrose1922
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Very good! I used brown rice and left out the parsley. Went very well with the drilled brown sugar pork chops from this site. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenrose1922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was okay. My 3 year old ate it. I was not so excited about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was just so so. It wasn't totally gross, I just wouldn't make it again. The apples were good, just the texture with the rice and apples wasn't appealing. Flavor ok, texture eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States