Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Kind of bland, it seems like it was missing something....maybe more cinnamon or something...I even added more raisons than it called for. I think if I made it again I would load up on the cinnamon and sugar some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe turned out great but I did make a few changes. I substituted honey for sugar, olive oil for shortening, half the flour I used wheat flour and I also used dry milk instead of liquid milk. The consistency was great! I also doubled the filling mix and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. In my bread machine I think I will let the bread go through the entire dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I was very anxious to try this recipe after reading all the rave reviews, but I am a little disappointed, it was VERY dry, I worked in another 1/4 C milk while I was kneading it just to get it to be of a bread like texture, but it still could have used more. I triple checked the recipe to make sure I had done everything right... I wonder if it is maybe because I am in Alaska? Because the dough was so dry and stiff I know it wont turn out really well but what I am looking for this time is flavor, if I like the flavor then I will continue to make it just adjusting the ingredients. I added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the loaf, smells heavenly. Right now it is rising, so I will update later to post my results. Also if you are hand working this bread I would recommend adding the raisins in with all the wet ingredients, it is too hard to work them in while kneading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious. Might even be good for special occasions with a powdered sugar icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I followed others suggestions and doubled the filling, added cinnamon to the dough and a little flour. Rather than bake it in two loaf pans, because whoops...I only have one, I fit it into a bundt pan! It was amazing. I poured about 1 1/2 TB of melted butter over the top to help with browning. It was fantastic. Now I am going to try to make a Chocolate swirl version, substituting cocoa powder for cinnamon! We shall see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Memories of my childhood. This bread was perfect tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
well i just wanted to say that i love it, no need to write a novel about it!! great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this using my Kitchen Aid mixer from start to finish. I did double the filling. I might triple it next time, for a deeper swirl. The dough came together beautifully (I've been having such issues with that lately) and rose like a champ. It's baking now, but I'll update after we've cut into it at tomorrow's breakfast. EDITED: Excellent bread. I liked that it wasn't overly sweet. The raisins add a nice touch. I couldn't wait for it to cool fully, I ate a piece warm with butter. Heavenly. Cut well even warm, didn't fall apart like most cinnamon breads do. Perfection. TIP: You might want to oil the pan down and make sure both sides of the loaf are oiled. It's a stickier bread, which means when it rises, you'll have a heck of a time getting it off the saran wrap if you don't. EDITED AGAIN: The vanilla glaze from this site is wonderful drizzled over warm slices of this bread. Just like a cinnamon roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
You need to double the filling for the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was amazing cinnamon bread. It tastes just like the kind at the local bakery. I used whole wheat flour- but I needed a lot more of it than the recipe called for, by about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. I also added a little extra sugar to the dough to counteract the bitterness that sometimes comes with whole wheat flour. Next time I'll add some cinnamon to the actual dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States