Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was amazing cinnamon bread. It tastes just like the kind at the local bakery. I used whole wheat flour- but I needed a lot more of it than the recipe called for, by about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. I also added a little extra sugar to the dough to counteract the bitterness that sometimes comes with whole wheat flour. Next time I'll add some cinnamon to the actual dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I make this bread all the time, it is that good. I've been experimenting a little with it. The last time, I added about 3/4 cup of raisins and 1/4 cup chopped granny smith apples. Next time I think I'll add more apples! It came out great. I also use 2.5 cups bread flour and 1.5 cups wheat flour and that seems to give it the perfect balance between a wheat bread and a white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Bread was good. The brown sugar mix for the swirl didn't even cover the rolled out bread. I made a little over a double recipe of the swirl. We were looking for a cinnamon swirl recipe to use for making french toast, it worked great for the french toast. With the cinnamon swirl we hardly needed any syrup on the french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
what is everyone crowing about? I made this the other day and found it to be very very very dry - i used craisins and raisins and doubled the filling but was not at all pleased. I will stick with a recipe I have had for years that I make by hand without the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It was pretty good, I increased the filling ingredients by half and thought it was enough. The bread itself did lack something though, I might try some of the other cinnamon raisin bread recipes on this site and see what might be missing. I did like the fact that it had no eggs though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made it without raisins and added a lot more cinnamon, but it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
The bread was very yummy, and rose nicely, but its top became flat in the oven. Also, the amount of brown sugar and cinnamon called for in the recipe didn't create much of a swirl. Next time I would use twice as much of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Really an excellent recipe. I made the recipe this very day and the smell is still wafting through the house. I like that it makes 2 loaves. Well worth making. It beats all the commerical Cinnamon Raisin bread to pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRICIA BROWN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very good! I added cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling as suggested by previous reviewers. Smelled wonderful while it was baking! It looks great when it's all sliced up, all swirly. Would be great with a glaze on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States