Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This bread is really really good. Used half whole wheat flour. No changes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this bread twice in one day. The first time I made it following the instructions halved, adding a tsp. of cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling. The only problem I had was that as the dough rose, the filling gooed out. It was sitll very good. (I am a little ashamed to say that I ate all but one piece... oops!) The second time I made it, I made it according to Amy B.'s recipe with orange extract and apricots and it was heavenly! My husband LOVED it and he's a pretty picky eater! (whenI say picky I mean that I make what I would for my 5-year-old niece: PB&J and fruit rollups). I will definately be putting this and the motified apricot recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
So, I kept the basic bread part the same, but I added orange extract (1 TBLS) and some chopped apricots (about 1 CUP) to the dough as mixing. You never need to add more flour than a recipe calls for, when it stops sticking and starts slapping the side of the bowl, it is ready to rise btw. For the swirl, I used 1 egg(egg holds your sugars without splitting your bread) and 1 tea. orange extract and brushed that over the bread. Then, I sprinked my brown sugar (1/2 cup), cinnamon (1.5 TBLS), clove (1/4 tea), and nutmeg(1/4 tea) over the bread and let it rise again. Baked it for about 35 mins (but the best way to tell is with a thermometer reading at least 190 degrees). This way the best bread I've made (and I make some pretty decent bread), and I probably ate most of 1 loaf all by myself! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEYLEE24
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made the dough by hand, let it do its final rise in my bread machine, then baked it on the bake only function. I followed others' advice in adding a little cinnamon to the dough, doubling the cinnamon/sugar mixture, and boiling the raisins to soften them. My only complaint is that the "roll" didn't stay intact when slicing the bread, the sliced pieces fell apart. In retrospect, I think that the sugar in the filling made the yeast react where the dough was rolled, making for large gaps instead of a solid loaf. I will try this again with the recommended amount of filling. Otherwise - absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This bread came out excellent. I cut the recipe down to half and tripled the filling. It is perfect. I don't have a bread machine so I used my KA. Added the warm water (90-110 degrees) the milk and let the yeast proof for 5 minutes. Added the rest of the ingrediants, mixed it and let it rise. Then baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This bread was very good, but I added 2 tsp of cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling. I actually made one loaf of bread and made the other into cinnamon rolls. Mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made as Directed. I didnt have enough dough to make 2 loaves, made 1 regular sized, we also thought it was kind of dry. Makes good toast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
So very, very good! Subbed powdered milk for regular and subbed craisins for raisins as it was all I had. Plumped them up in some warm water for about 20 minutes prior to putting ingredients into the pan and then used the drained water from the craisins to make the bread. Before I added the craisins to the dough, I placed them on a paper towel to absorb the extra moisture and then tossed with a T. of flour. It helped reduce the stickiness and improve the overall texture. I've also tried adding 1/4 c. finely chopped apple, 1/8 c. walnuts and subbed some white flour for wheat and loved it that way too. And like many others I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling. Great recipe and great ideas from reviewers to change it up if you want. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This bread was really good. It rose a little too much for my bread machine. It hit the top. I deflated it and put some Pam oil spay on my hands so it wouldn't stick (I read the suggestion on another site, it worked and I didn't have to add more flour). I did substitute 2 Tbs canola oil for shortning and white sugar instead of brown sugar(I didn't have shortning or brown sugar). I didn't put the raisins in the dough, I rolled out the dough, put on the sugar/butter mixture and sprinkled on the raisins. I than rolled up the bread. I was out of butter and eggs, so I brushed the top with water and sprinkled on some cinnamon and sugar. I might us an egg wash next time. I froze one loaf and baked the other. Oh, mine only needed 1/2 hour to rise. I then set the oven to the temp and left the bread in for 30 minutes. It was perfect. This bread was great!!! I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Love how not sweet it is, a true yeast bread. I added chopped walnuts and plumped the raisins as others suggested. It doesn't last long enough to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States