Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made as Directed. I didnt have enough dough to make 2 loaves, made 1 regular sized, we also thought it was kind of dry. Makes good toast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
So very, very good! Subbed powdered milk for regular and subbed craisins for raisins as it was all I had. Plumped them up in some warm water for about 20 minutes prior to putting ingredients into the pan and then used the drained water from the craisins to make the bread. Before I added the craisins to the dough, I placed them on a paper towel to absorb the extra moisture and then tossed with a T. of flour. It helped reduce the stickiness and improve the overall texture. I've also tried adding 1/4 c. finely chopped apple, 1/8 c. walnuts and subbed some white flour for wheat and loved it that way too. And like many others I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling. Great recipe and great ideas from reviewers to change it up if you want. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This bread was really good. It rose a little too much for my bread machine. It hit the top. I deflated it and put some Pam oil spay on my hands so it wouldn't stick (I read the suggestion on another site, it worked and I didn't have to add more flour). I did substitute 2 Tbs canola oil for shortning and white sugar instead of brown sugar(I didn't have shortning or brown sugar). I didn't put the raisins in the dough, I rolled out the dough, put on the sugar/butter mixture and sprinkled on the raisins. I than rolled up the bread. I was out of butter and eggs, so I brushed the top with water and sprinkled on some cinnamon and sugar. I might us an egg wash next time. I froze one loaf and baked the other. Oh, mine only needed 1/2 hour to rise. I then set the oven to the temp and left the bread in for 30 minutes. It was perfect. This bread was great!!! I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Love how not sweet it is, a true yeast bread. I added chopped walnuts and plumped the raisins as others suggested. It doesn't last long enough to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made little loafs of these for Christmas baskets..I double the filling and this is delissssh!! Since then I have made this bread for french toast at camp. I make it the night before and use the next morning..kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Kind of bland, it seems like it was missing something....maybe more cinnamon or something...I even added more raisons than it called for. I think if I made it again I would load up on the cinnamon and sugar some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe turned out great but I did make a few changes. I substituted honey for sugar, olive oil for shortening, half the flour I used wheat flour and I also used dry milk instead of liquid milk. The consistency was great! I also doubled the filling mix and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. In my bread machine I think I will let the bread go through the entire dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I was very anxious to try this recipe after reading all the rave reviews, but I am a little disappointed, it was VERY dry, I worked in another 1/4 C milk while I was kneading it just to get it to be of a bread like texture, but it still could have used more. I triple checked the recipe to make sure I had done everything right... I wonder if it is maybe because I am in Alaska? Because the dough was so dry and stiff I know it wont turn out really well but what I am looking for this time is flavor, if I like the flavor then I will continue to make it just adjusting the ingredients. I added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the loaf, smells heavenly. Right now it is rising, so I will update later to post my results. Also if you are hand working this bread I would recommend adding the raisins in with all the wet ingredients, it is too hard to work them in while kneading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious. Might even be good for special occasions with a powdered sugar icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I followed others suggestions and doubled the filling, added cinnamon to the dough and a little flour. Rather than bake it in two loaf pans, because whoops...I only have one, I fit it into a bundt pan! It was amazing. I poured about 1 1/2 TB of melted butter over the top to help with browning. It was fantastic. Now I am going to try to make a Chocolate swirl version, substituting cocoa powder for cinnamon! We shall see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States