Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This raisin bread is wonderful! One night I was bored and attempted cinnamon rolls with the dough; Oh MY! They were awesome! I made a butter, cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar mixture that I spread over the rolled out dough with cream cheese icing to spread on top when they came out of the oven. Thanks for the awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellow_daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This bread is very tasty and was not hard to make. The cinnamon and sugar oozed out of the bread and burnt on the bottom of the pan. I baked the bread in 3 large loaf pans but would use 4 pans next time. I also made one loaf with apples instead of raisins. Note: The crust is very crumby...I'm hoping that it softens up over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Doubled the filling, left the raisins the same. Everyone loved this - followed the recipe exactly except I added two shakes of cinnamon to the bread dough as it was mixing.. the bread didn't need to be eaten with butter and was perfectly sweet without being too sweet.. company and my husband loved it - they took some home. :) Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This bread is really really good. Used half whole wheat flour. No changes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this bread twice in one day. The first time I made it following the instructions halved, adding a tsp. of cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling. The only problem I had was that as the dough rose, the filling gooed out. It was sitll very good. (I am a little ashamed to say that I ate all but one piece... oops!) The second time I made it, I made it according to Amy B.'s recipe with orange extract and apricots and it was heavenly! My husband LOVED it and he's a pretty picky eater! (whenI say picky I mean that I make what I would for my 5-year-old niece: PB&J and fruit rollups). I will definately be putting this and the motified apricot recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
So, I kept the basic bread part the same, but I added orange extract (1 TBLS) and some chopped apricots (about 1 CUP) to the dough as mixing. You never need to add more flour than a recipe calls for, when it stops sticking and starts slapping the side of the bowl, it is ready to rise btw. For the swirl, I used 1 egg(egg holds your sugars without splitting your bread) and 1 tea. orange extract and brushed that over the bread. Then, I sprinked my brown sugar (1/2 cup), cinnamon (1.5 TBLS), clove (1/4 tea), and nutmeg(1/4 tea) over the bread and let it rise again. Baked it for about 35 mins (but the best way to tell is with a thermometer reading at least 190 degrees). This way the best bread I've made (and I make some pretty decent bread), and I probably ate most of 1 loaf all by myself! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEYLEE24
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made the dough by hand, let it do its final rise in my bread machine, then baked it on the bake only function. I followed others' advice in adding a little cinnamon to the dough, doubling the cinnamon/sugar mixture, and boiling the raisins to soften them. My only complaint is that the "roll" didn't stay intact when slicing the bread, the sliced pieces fell apart. In retrospect, I think that the sugar in the filling made the yeast react where the dough was rolled, making for large gaps instead of a solid loaf. I will try this again with the recommended amount of filling. Otherwise - absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This bread came out excellent. I cut the recipe down to half and tripled the filling. It is perfect. I don't have a bread machine so I used my KA. Added the warm water (90-110 degrees) the milk and let the yeast proof for 5 minutes. Added the rest of the ingrediants, mixed it and let it rise. Then baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This bread was very good, but I added 2 tsp of cinnamon to the dough and doubled the filling. I actually made one loaf of bread and made the other into cinnamon rolls. Mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made as Directed. I didnt have enough dough to make 2 loaves, made 1 regular sized, we also thought it was kind of dry. Makes good toast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States