Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious bread! I doubled the filling recipe because I wanted it extra cinnamon-y and it was great. This would be great with a powdered sugar glaze over the top after baking. This would be a nice bread to give as thank you gifts or during the holidays. Thanks for another great bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was a really great loaf of bread! It came out soft and fragrant. My family gobbled it up. I would give it 4 1/2 stars if I could. Here are some changes I made to make it 5 stars: 1. I used butter instead of shortening (not melted, just kneaded room temperature butter into the dough). 2. I used 1 1/2 cup of warm milk (microwaved) instead of warm water and omitted the 2 T of milk. Depending on the humidity, you might need to add more or less milk to get the dough at the right consistency. (If you are substituting whole wheat flour for some of the bread flour, you might need to add more liquid as well.) 3. I soaked the raisins in hot water before drying on a paper towel. This allows the raisins to remain moist and does not cause the raisins to pull moisture from the dough during baking. 4. I kneaded the raisins into the dough (gently or the raisins will tear) to get a more even distribution. After the first rising, I then rolled out the dough, brushed the top with some water and sprinkled the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture on top before rolling up (this also prevents the rolled up dough from pulling apart after baking). Sometimes I add crushed walnuts to this mixture for a nice crunch. 5. To reduce calories, I did not use butter or brush the top of the loaf with butter. Did not miss it. Top of the loaf was soft even without the butter! Overall, delicious recipe. Will continue to make in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Awesome bread! I doubled the filling recipe and used my Kitchenaid instead of a breadmaker. Left plumped raisins for the filling. I loved the not so sweetness of the bread and used bread flour for the first time instead of AP flour. What a difference in texture! Loved it and will make again. Saving a loaf (that's hard!) for Sunday a.m. breakfast.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
A very good recipe! I am ambitious and modified it with some really good results. Follow the recipe as written except half raisins in step 2 and in step 3 I add half a can of applke pie filling and a tablespoon more brown sugar and the other half a cup of raisins. At step 5 I make crumble topping with a tablespoon of butter tablespoon of brown sugar and flour, add more sugar and flour if it doesnt roll into balls. Brush loaf with melted butter as in recipe and then sprikle crumbles over. Bake til done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I am still working on my bread making skills, and even with my limited abilities this turned out really good. We couldn't stop eating it warm right out of the oven. I don't have a bread maker so I used my Kitchen Aid and kneaded the rest by hand. It tasted great with and without raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I use five Tablespoons of sugar to the bread recipe and add at least a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon as well. When this comes out of the bread machine, I let it rise for an hour in a warm place after I've swirled the butter and brown sugar into the dough and it allows for the bread to rise. Wonderful recipe. I've made it three times now (making 6 loaves.) I'm going to experiment with whole wheat flour next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This has become my "signature" bread. I tweaked the recipe per other comments...adding a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dough, soaking my raisins and doubling the filling. It also makes the best french toast...nice thick slices, warm maple syrup...absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
FANTASTIC! This recipe really made for a FANTASTIC loaf of bread. I plumped the raisins before adding. I added them by just sprinkling them over the brown sugar and cinnamon. Although I measured the filling, the next time I will just sprinkle it on as needed. Thank you Dmseck for such a FANTASTIC recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great bread! I have to incorporate more whole grain into my diet, so I used 2 1/2 cups bread flour and 1 1/2 cups wheat. I also soaked the raisins. Since some noted an issue with the rise, and I used WW flour, I used 1 full pkt of yeast (2 1/4 tsp). I used considerably more cinnamon than called for, but will use more next time, as I prefer a stronger spice flavor. Light, soft, moist, and chewy bread, even with 1/1/2 cups wheat flour. Awesome toast, great texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good. I cut this into thirds (I think I rolled it out too long), made a regular size loaf, a smaller loaf, and some cinnamon rolls. Very delicious! I made the Cocoa Cinnamon Spread from here to go with it, so I used some of that to top the cinnamon rolls while they were still warm. I forgot to add the raisins during the bread cycle so I just added it to the filling--which I didn't measure out, just sprinkled on until it looked good. Wonderful bread, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States