Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe about 4 times and love it, could someone tell me the recipe for the frosting, I used the one for the cinn. buns it looks a little heavy more like cake frosting, this is more like a glaze. please help. I'm also going to try soaking the raisins, this sounds like a good idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a good starter recipe. I would rate is 5 stars after my modifications. The bread itself is not sweet. I doubled the sugar in the bread. I did not add raisins because my kids don't care for them. I substituted butter for shortening and I doubled the filling. I used butter to grease the pans and sprinkled a bit of coarse sugar in the pans. I have used all purpose flour as well as bread flour and usually have to add more all purpose when I use it. I've made this recipe multiple times with my adjustments and it always turns out great. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I substituted butter for the shortening, as I did not have shortening on hand. This was very tasty! I was a little disappointed in the texture...it was nice and soft, but too dense. did not have a bread machine, so I kneaded by hand, and I think I should have kneaded for much longer. I actually added orange extract instead of any of the cinnamon mixture, and folded in pistachio nuts and plump raisins. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Glad I used powdered milk instead of regular because dough is sticky even using that. I also added some cinnamon to dough as well and tripled the filling. Overall satisfactory loaves as I was looking to make grilled cheese sandwiches with it and then glazed the other loaf for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were great. I don't have a bread machine so I had to make these by hand. Added the vanilla icing from this sight, and omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Another night where I was out of eggs! Great backup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I'm no sure how so many people found it dry, I made it for my husband and he said it was super soft and yummy, makes great toast for those quick on the go mornings. Thanks for sharing, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hierrazip
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a keeper! Made a few changes myself as others had suggested. I increased the amount of flour by 1/4 cup. I used 2 1/2 cup unbleached white flour and 1 3/4 whole wheat flour. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the flour mixture. I also soaked the raisins in hot water for a short while. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the liquid ingredients. I doubled the butter/cinnamon/brown sugar mixture and I mixed them all together before spreading on the dough. I think this way makes it easier to roll the dough up. I also used a bundt pan and baked for 30 minutes to perfection. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hierrazip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Nice & easy recipe.. Kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
YES!!! This Is A Winner!! VERY VERY GOOD!!! I did double the filling! and added some vanilla extract to the dough so Delicious!! When i took it out of the oven I put a Glaze over the Top and Boy let me tell you it was hard for me not to eat the whole piece I cut! I only took a bite because im watching my calories lol this is a for sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States