Cinnamon Raisin Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
These were fabulous. I added 1/2 cup of sugar to the dough mix, and only used 1/2 a cup of milk (Use butter, not shortening). I added 1/2 cup more of brown sugar to the butter and cinnamon. The outcome was to die for!!! My suggestion is to not use the melted butter, but use butter at room temp, and spread with a knife over the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattimcdougal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
FABOOO snack! MY family gobbled these down before I knew it! Very tasty. My suggestion is that u DONT use the muffin liners. The cinnamon turns into a carmel like substance and its VERY hard removing them..Otherwise it was pefect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This recipe is great....the biscuit dough is just the type of dough I was looking for. I also did not use muffin tins....and I think next time I bake them I will add more cinnamon and use brown sugar with the white sugar to make them extra gooey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My husband really, really liked these. He ate 5! He saw me making them and asked me to add pecans and really that was the only added ingredient. I don't pour in all of the milk at one time when making biscuits, bread, etc... because some days you need it all and some days you don't depending on the weather. I floured my parchment paper, my hands, the rolling pin for rolling out the dough and had no problem. When rolling the dough into the roll, just use the floured parchment paper to roll and it won't be sticky. After it's rolled, you might want to place in the fridge for a few secs to make slicing easy. I didn't use the muffin tins and only cooked half of the log. I made icing by using 1 cup confectionary sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla and maybe one tablespoon of milk. (Add slowly until you get the consistancy you like.) Just drizzled it over hot rolls with a spoon and they were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
These turned out way better than I thought they would. They were tender and flaky! I added about 1/4 c sugar to the flour mixture just to make sure the dough didn't taste like a biscuit. I also baked them on a sheet rather than in a muffin tin. They turned out great and didn't last through the day. The only negative thing about them is they lose the delicate texture several hours after baking. I guess that means we'll have to eat them all right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Fantastic! So easy, so good. Just a word- I used parchment paper on a jelly roll pan and they get a lot BIGGER, so space them well, and use butter for a great taste and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
OMG! These are absolutely delicious!! I have searched long and hard for a cinnamon roll recipe that is quick and yummy and I found it. These taste like Pillsbury cinnamon buns! I was shocked at how easy they really were. Other reviewers have mentioned a problem with the dough being sticky and the dough being too salty-I had none of these problems, I followed closely and they came out sinfully good! I added flour until it was the texture where I knew I was able to roll it easily. I would suggest to those add a little less salt next time and be patient with the dough until it is the consistency that you can work with... This is going to become my new "Holiday Morning Cinnamon Bun" recipe. I can not tell you how much time this recipe saves compared to your standard yeast roll recipes and is just as good, if not better! Thanks a bunch-It's a definite keeper!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
First I divided the recipe in half. Didn't need 12 servings - though I'm sure we could have easily eaten more. I made a few slight changes. I added a teaspoon of white granulated sugar to the dough to sweeten it. I also reduced the milk by a third. I added a bit more brown sugar and melted the butter into it before spreading the mixture onto the rolled out dough. Rather than using muffin tins, I greased a pie pan and fit them all into it. Worked out perfect. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Tasted nice, but was nearly impossible to roll up since the dough was so sticky and stuck to the board even though I had floured it. Definitely needs less liquid... Any raisins that arent covered with dough will burn, so be sure to keep that from happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
So good! Followed the advice of another reviewer and added a bit of sugar to the dough as well, and used about half the amount of milk stated. Used milk to seal the edges. The texture is wonderful. Using some leftover dough, I sprinkled sugar, cocoa powder and a few chocolate chips, then baked those as well. Also good. Will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States