Cinnamon Raisin Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
These were delicious!!! I didn't melt the butter, but I think I will next time. Either that or make sure to press the sugar mixture down into the butter and dough so I can get a tighter roll. When I went to cut them and put them onto the cookie sheet the sugar was falling out. I just scooped it back into the rolls. They tasted fabulous and my husband wants me to make these again. which is a compliment since he doesn't really like cinnamon rolls that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhomemakersc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
First I divided the recipe in half. Didn't need 12 servings - though I'm sure we could have easily eaten more. I made a few slight changes. I added a teaspoon of white granulated sugar to the dough to sweeten it. I also reduced the milk by a third. I added a bit more brown sugar and melted the butter into it before spreading the mixture onto the rolled out dough. Rather than using muffin tins, I greased a pie pan and fit them all into it. Worked out perfect. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My partner absolutely LOVED these! I omitted the raisins, and used some whole wheat flour as i didnt have quite enough all-purpose. Added a bit of extra brown sugar, a bit more butter, and a bit less milk. Have an apartment sized oven (smaller) so set it for 410F, and baked for 14minutes. Only way to be improve may be to sweeten the dough with a bit of sugar or vanilla?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickass karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My husband really, really liked these. He ate 5! He saw me making them and asked me to add pecans and really that was the only added ingredient. I don't pour in all of the milk at one time when making biscuits, bread, etc... because some days you need it all and some days you don't depending on the weather. I floured my parchment paper, my hands, the rolling pin for rolling out the dough and had no problem. When rolling the dough into the roll, just use the floured parchment paper to roll and it won't be sticky. After it's rolled, you might want to place in the fridge for a few secs to make slicing easy. I didn't use the muffin tins and only cooked half of the log. I made icing by using 1 cup confectionary sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla and maybe one tablespoon of milk. (Add slowly until you get the consistancy you like.) Just drizzled it over hot rolls with a spoon and they were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
What a mess! It was a fairly easy recipe, but I agree that it was a mess. I followed the recipe and although it tasted good, the pinwheels spread way too much, and the filling spread everywhere. And well it was just a big mess. Worked for the moment to calm my cinnamon roll cravings, but will definitely not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
i rated it 3 because you do have to make changes.Be carfull it burns easy too .They were ok i love the idea of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Yum! My kids loved these cinnamon rolls, and I was happy with the time required to prepare the recipe. I modified the recipe a little because of food allergies in the family. I used a soy margarine and non-hydrogenated shortening in place of the butter and shortening called for. I also substituted 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour to add a little more nutritional value. I made a soy-cream cheese icing to top the rolls. Absolutely delicious even with all of these changes to the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
It was so good! Also i omitted the raisins because i don't like raisins. It came out good but the first batch came out really bland. Also i kinda didn't like how the dough was flaky, but at a party everyone else liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This had way too much milk. I had to add an extra cup of flour to make this dough even somewhat manageable. It is very sticky to roll out, so don't skimp on flouring your board. The final product is tender like biscuits and goes well with a thin cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
These took long to make. They were sticky and my arms were so tired of rolling them out when I finished. My siblings and I enjoyed them together fresh out of the oven, but the cinnamon turned hard the next day. Too much cinnamon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana Gallardo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States