Cinnamon Raisin Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
These are the perfect BREAKFAST cinnamon rolls. It was definitely NOT too sweet. It was accompanied nicely by some sausage with melted cheese. I made some changes. 1) I didn't add quite as much cinnamon. 2) I didn't use muffin pans, either. Oh! And a tip, if not using muffin pans, put each individual roll face up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I have adapted this recipe to make what I call butterscotch bisquits.I use buttermilk to make the dough, omit raisin, and spread the dough with a butter brown sugar paste, plus I spread the pan with the same paste. I even make them the night before. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
These were fabulous. I added 1/2 cup of sugar to the dough mix, and only used 1/2 a cup of milk (Use butter, not shortening). I added 1/2 cup more of brown sugar to the butter and cinnamon. The outcome was to die for!!! My suggestion is to not use the melted butter, but use butter at room temp, and spread with a knife over the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattimcdougal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Tasted nice, but was nearly impossible to roll up since the dough was so sticky and stuck to the board even though I had floured it. Definitely needs less liquid... Any raisins that arent covered with dough will burn, so be sure to keep that from happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
OMG! These are absolutely delicious!! I have searched long and hard for a cinnamon roll recipe that is quick and yummy and I found it. These taste like Pillsbury cinnamon buns! I was shocked at how easy they really were. Other reviewers have mentioned a problem with the dough being sticky and the dough being too salty-I had none of these problems, I followed closely and they came out sinfully good! I added flour until it was the texture where I knew I was able to roll it easily. I would suggest to those add a little less salt next time and be patient with the dough until it is the consistency that you can work with... This is going to become my new "Holiday Morning Cinnamon Bun" recipe. I can not tell you how much time this recipe saves compared to your standard yeast roll recipes and is just as good, if not better! Thanks a bunch-It's a definite keeper!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Like others, I added 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of sugar to the dough. Made a simple glaze of powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and sour cream...heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
this were good and really easy to make because it didn't need yeast! however, we found it a bit salty and had a weird after taste, probably from the baking powder..next time i will add less salt and less baking powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
These turned out way better than I thought they would. They were tender and flaky! I added about 1/4 c sugar to the flour mixture just to make sure the dough didn't taste like a biscuit. I also baked them on a sheet rather than in a muffin tin. They turned out great and didn't last through the day. The only negative thing about them is they lose the delicate texture several hours after baking. I guess that means we'll have to eat them all right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. First of all, the dough was way too sticky to either knead or roll out, and I had to add more flour. I also thought it called for way too much butter to be spread on the dough. As I cut the roll and tried to put the pieces in the muffin cups, generally the pinwheels got distorted. The finished product was very good, but not as tasty as I had expected. In all, I don't think I will make these again. They took much longer to make than I expected, and the outcome, while good, was not as good as I'd hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Delicious! I, too, used all butter instead of shortening. Had to add some extra flour due to it being so sticky. But I've made them twice and everyone loves them! I whip up a small bowl of icing real quick and drizzle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States