Cinnamon Raisin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! This was my first bread machine attempt and chose this yummy loaf. Super moist and semi sweet. Perfect for morning toast! I did take the advise of one of the others on this post an added 1/4 cup additional flour. I am at 4,700 feet so it worked out nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Mallett
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made the changes that others had suggested. Putting in 2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Adding 1/2 cup more flour. It came out really good. I made the dough in the bread machine then put it into a loaf pan, let it rise and then baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mallett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and turned out great. Makes the whole house smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
yummy..straight from the bread machine. I added 1 tbsp cinnamon instead of 1 tsp, soaked the raisins in warm water then dried them, and had to add a little more flour. Wow it is good thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsarnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
very very good!! decrease yeast by a teaspoon though....i had a huge mess in my machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Tried this recipe this morning using a bread machine that makes a 1-pound loaf and for which I have no manual. I halved the recipe with the following exceptions: I used a whole egg (lightly beaten), not knowing how to use a half an egg; 1 TBSP of honey and 1 TBSP of dark brown sugar; 2 TBSP butter, softened; 1 tsp McCormick pumpkin pie spice (because I didn't have any cinnamon in the house); 1 3/4 cup bread flour; 1 tsp and a smidge of bread machine yeast; four lunchbox-size boxes of raisins that I soaked in warm water as the milk and egg came up to room temperature. Since my machine is a very basic one, I added all the ingredients at once (including the raisins, drained from the water) in the order given in the recipe. Also, as I buy bread machine yeast by the jar and keep it in the refrigerator, I measured it out and let it warm with the milk and egg (each in their separate measuring bowls until needed, of course). The end result was wonderful. However, I will make the following tweaks next time: I will make sure I have cinnamon and use a full teaspoon and maybe add a little nutmeg for depth. Also, I may go to two cups of flour; I noted the previous comments about how moist the dough was (more batter-like was the frequent comment), so I boosted it from 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 cups of flour on this attempt. I may go to two full cups next time as this loaf was almost too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Super easy, super soft and moist. I followed some of the other users tips and doubled up on the cinnamon (2tsp) and also substituted the honey for 4 tbs sugar and it came out awesome. The sweetness is perfect for a cinnamon raisin bread, I used my mom's homemade raisins which were huge so the one cup was enough to give the bread that yummy raisin oomph. This recipe is definitely a keeper, I'm making another loaf tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out absolutely PERFECT in my Oster bread machine! I used the same ingredients/amounts as given in the recipe, no more, no less, all liquids at room temp - it rised perfectly & the color, texture, & moisture were all perfect, too. The only thing I did differently was while the first knead & rise cycles were going I added about a tsp of water to the raisins to help break them apart (the water was absorbed by the time they were to be added during the 2nd knead cycle). I set my machine on the 1 1/2 lb "sweet" bread setting. I used "Better for Bread" flour, bread machine yeast, clover honey, & Vietnamese cinnamon. It's not a super-sweet bread dessert-like bread, the sweetness was perfect for my taste, yummy toasted with butter, & also can't resist nibbling on it absolutely plain. When I make this again (and I WILL!) I might or might not add more raisins depending on if I'm in the mood for "raisin bread" or "bread with raisins." This bread would make delicious French toast, though that'll have to wait for the next loaf as this on won't last until breakfast tomorrow. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I have made lots of cinnamon raisin bread, but I do think this is by far one of the best. The only thing I altered was plumping the raisins in the microwave for a few minutes with a little water and about a tsp. of cinnamon. Let cool before adding to dough. I also added a little extra cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I prefer to do my breads on the dough cycle and then form and put in pan to raise the second time before baking in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This made great bread! I often have trouble with raisin bread not rising enough in the bread machine, but this turned out perfect! The only change I made was adding an extra tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States