Cinnamon Raisin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out absolutely PERFECT in my Oster bread machine! I used the same ingredients/amounts as given in the recipe, no more, no less, all liquids at room temp - it rised perfectly & the color, texture, & moisture were all perfect, too. The only thing I did differently was while the first knead & rise cycles were going I added about a tsp of water to the raisins to help break them apart (the water was absorbed by the time they were to be added during the 2nd knead cycle). I set my machine on the 1 1/2 lb "sweet" bread setting. I used "Better for Bread" flour, bread machine yeast, clover honey, & Vietnamese cinnamon. It's not a super-sweet bread dessert-like bread, the sweetness was perfect for my taste, yummy toasted with butter, & also can't resist nibbling on it absolutely plain. When I make this again (and I WILL!) I might or might not add more raisins depending on if I'm in the mood for "raisin bread" or "bread with raisins." This bread would make delicious French toast, though that'll have to wait for the next loaf as this on won't last until breakfast tomorrow. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I have made lots of cinnamon raisin bread, but I do think this is by far one of the best. The only thing I altered was plumping the raisins in the microwave for a few minutes with a little water and about a tsp. of cinnamon. Let cool before adding to dough. I also added a little extra cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I prefer to do my breads on the dough cycle and then form and put in pan to raise the second time before baking in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This made great bread! I often have trouble with raisin bread not rising enough in the bread machine, but this turned out perfect! The only change I made was adding an extra tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chiang Mai John
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this bread with my food processor and as with all my food processor breads, I added the liquid, milk, lastly and stopped adding when it started to form a ball. This was less than the 1 cup in the recipe. Which probably explains why so many people had to add more flour. I increase the cinnamon as many do, and the bread is wonderful, quite sweet, in fact my friends call it my "cookie" bread. It makes great toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiang Mai John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I put everything in the bread machine with no fuss and this came out wonderful. A good lite crust a fluffy top and a taste of a good bakery. It makes a big loaf and it was just two of us so I made french toast with it a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is a a very good recipe. I did add 1/4 c more flour, 2tbsp sugar and about 4 tsp ground cinnamon. It turned out great and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe is great! I have tried numerous raisin bread recipes and this turned out to be the best. I figure out that using honey in the bread ingredients makes quite some difference in the taste. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good but came out HUGE. I think it's due to the yeast, next time i will reduce it to just 2 teaspoons. I also soaked the raisins in a teaspoon vanilla extract and a drop of water and i doubled the cinnamon. Its a Very tasty bread. But I was looking for more of a moist dense bread, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Awesome Bread Recipe! I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews too, but after making it it turned out perfect! It rose perfect and nice and soft easy as heck to cut thin slices and moist. I added a tablespoon of rye whiskey to the raisins while soaking them! Next time I will add more cinnamon though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Bad first attempt. Came out doughy and did not rise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States