Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I scaled this down to make two loaves. I had to guess with the yeast as I didn't have any packets and wouldn't have used 1 1/4 packets anyways, so I did 2 1/2 tsp. I upped the raisins to a full cup and will increase that to add least a cup and a half next time. I used a mixture of bread and all purpose flour. This is a nice, sweet raisin bread recipe that I will for sure be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Too sweet for our tastes. The dough was too puffy and it was hard to toast because the rings of dough separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I've made breads before and always come up flat...I just figured I couldnt cook. I tried this recepie and finally knocked one out of the park. It was so tasty and fresh that my boyfriend said it looked like something I bought from the store. Now I know it was the recepie and NOT me...Awesome bread and I'll be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmar1986
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Oh my gosh, I LOVE this bread!!! I changed a few things. I added 1 Tbsp of sugar to the yeast/water and let it sit for 10 mins. As the yeast was activating, I mixed the other ingredients together, except for the flour. I also used butter instead of margarine and 1 1/2 cups raisins since I like them a lot! I added the yeast mixture after 10 mins and then the cooled milk. I also used 4 cups of unbleached all-purpose flour and 4 cups bread flour since I have read that all-purpose flour isn't the best for bread. I kneaded the bread for about 10 minutes, not just a few. Let rise for 30 mins. For the sugar/cinnamon mixture, I used 1 cup sugar and 4 Tbsp cinnamon since I also love it! I covered the rolled out dough completely and then rolled it up. Lastly, I placed a glass pan of water on the bottom rack in the oven. Apparently this helps with browning the crust and keeps it from burning or drying out as easily. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees and then after I put the loaves in the oven, lowered the heat to 350 since so much heat is lost when you open the oven and apparently the first few minutes are crucial for rising. I baked for 16 mins, then turned all three pans around and baked for an additional 16 mins. I believe 45 minutes would be WAY too long. In the end, they are beautiful, and I will post pictures. Hope this review helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmar1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very good! But don't start it at 7 PM :-) I love the cinnamon swirls and would add more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I have not had very much success baking yeast bread in the past but decided to try this recipe when my son was home from college for the weekend. It went together quickly and rose up just like it was supposed to. I had high hopes. When I took it out of the oven I glazed it with a cream cheese glaze from this site. The bread smelled amazing and the first slices were pretty good, just not excellent. It was so dry as to be almost inedible by the second day. I had wrapped it in plastic wrap and then a freezer zip lock bag. I paid attention and followed the directions as closely as possible. I'm hoping someone who is a better baker than I am will tell me what I did wrong. Now I have 2 loaves of dry bread. I think I will use the leftovers for a cinnamon raisin bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
We really liked the taste but I was expecting for it to be lighter. It was dense but once I figure out how to make it lighter, it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I actually scaled this down to make one loaf, thinking my small household could never manage three loaves. Now I wish I'd made all three and intend to do so at the weekend and freeze two of them. The dough is beautiful to work with and the instructions on how to achieve the swirl effect are very clear even when making only one loaf. I found 25 minutes baking time was all it took for one loaf. This is definitely becoming a breakfast favourite with my daughter, Faye thankyou so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe makes the best cinnamon raisin bread I have ever tasted! It is unbelievably delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
loved this!! cooked for only 30 min though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States