Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by LovesBoma
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
What a fantastic bread this was!! My family and I adored this bread and could hardly wait for it to cool down before digging in. I was relieved to see that though the outside crust of the bread was quite solid, the inside was moist and fluffy as I was hoping for in a good cinnamon raisin loaf. I used unbleached all purpose flour. I used butter instead of margarine, and quick rise yeast (made the water a little warmer than what was called for--I don't know if this made a difference or not...yeast is always iffy for me, the proofing time seemed to be the same as active dry) and cut down the recipe to one loaf. Note about this: I cut down to 12 servings to make one decent size loaf, but if you want it to fill the pan, 16 or 18 servings might give you the desired amount of dough for one loaf pan. I omitted the butter glaze, because we all spread margarine on our own slices so that step was unnecesary for us. This bread recipe could be used as a base for many other add ins or just as a plain loaf. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I suggest you double the raisins. I thought the recipe needed more raisins. Other than that the effort and time put into baking it is worth it. MY husband and friend enjoyed it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I am pretty new to bread baking. This is awesome! Very easy recipe. Only change I made was half whole wheat flour & half bread flour. Did it in my KitchenAid mixer & kneaded for 8 minutes. Baked for 30 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This bread was to die for. However, I really don't need 3 loaves and there's no room in my freezer so I calculated the recipe for 1 loaf. Here's what I came up with: 1/2 cup milk, 1/3 cup water, 2 1/4 tsp. yeast, 1 egg, 2 Tbsp. +2 tsp. sugar, 1/4 tsp. salt, 2 2/3 cups flour 1/4 cup brown sugar 2 tsp. cinnamon, and 2 tsps. melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This bread, in my humble opinion, is low on the salt...... but some people might like that, especially those that are watching their salt intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I CAN'T BELIEVE I actually made this HEAVENLY Cinnamon Raisin Bread and i want to brag and show it off to my family!!! Thank you Faye and Thank YOU Faye's dad! Would putting a heart at the end of this review be a little too much....OH WELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylittlechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I have been on a "mission" to find the perfect cinnamon raisin bread and I just found it! I am relatively new to bread making, and this recipe was easy (and fun) to make. I made my dough the night before and let it cold rise overnight in the fridge, and then pulled it out the next morning for the second rise. This made three of the most beautiful loaves. It slices very well, and the texture is just simple plain perfection. So yummy toasted with a little pat of butter. I will be making again and again. Thank You !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We loved this bread! I omitted the raisins but will definitely add them the next time. This is a really great bread that is not too sweet and has just the right amount of cinnamon and sugar (I used brown sugar for the swirl) that it doesn't feel like you're eating candy for breakfast. This made three big loaves; I baked one right away and froze the other two. When making one of the frozen loaves, I simply take it out of the freezer before bed, put it in a greased loaf pan and place in the oven, covered with the oven light on and let rise overnight. Then in the morning, I bake according to the directions. We find our bread is ready in about 30-35 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe Faye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I wish people would stop rating based on their modified recipe of something. It seems like every 4 or 5 star rating was given after adjusting parts of this recipe. It gives an unfair and unrealistic rating to the recipe. As written IMHO this raisin bread is no more than a 3. Sure I can change it to make it better, but that would mean those clicking on the highest rated recipe would read every comment. In a nutshell, this is too sweet, not enough raisins, and cooked for the suggested time will end up being a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful recipe. This is the first time that I've made raisin bread and there is no need to look for another recipe, because this one is mad good. Moist and wonderful, absolutely delicious. My significant other loves it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States