Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I wish people would stop rating based on their modified recipe of something. It seems like every 4 or 5 star rating was given after adjusting parts of this recipe. It gives an unfair and unrealistic rating to the recipe. As written IMHO this raisin bread is no more than a 3. Sure I can change it to make it better, but that would mean those clicking on the highest rated recipe would read every comment. In a nutshell, this is too sweet, not enough raisins, and cooked for the suggested time will end up being a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful recipe. This is the first time that I've made raisin bread and there is no need to look for another recipe, because this one is mad good. Moist and wonderful, absolutely delicious. My significant other loves it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
People beg me to make this more often, and since it makes so much I don't mind sharing. This makes a lot of dough, great if you like to gift food out or freeze it for saving later. I do make a few minor changes when I'm baking this. I use brioche yeast for one. I also use a mix of golden and regular raisins that I re-hydrate in the hot milk the recipe calls for. I also use more raisins and save about a half cup for the middle. Instead of regular sugar I use dark brown sugar for the middle roll and less cinnamon (the husband is not a cinnamon fan but he likes the bread like this). I actually have to cook the bread longer and at a (very) slightly higher temp. since I have a countertop oven. I use only the bottom heating element and use a drip pan under the bread to help distribute the heat. Though a baking stone would be much better. Overall it makes a tasty, soft, and sweet bread that is great on it's own or used as a decadent replacement for regular bread in French toast or bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simfonic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Simple to make, fabulous flavor with a light and airy texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Loved it! Like others I changed it a bit, added cinnamon to milk and added raisins to milk also used more cinnamon for the swirl,used both brown and white sugar for the swirl and added 1 1/2 bananas mashed. I cooked for 30 min which was just right. Moist, flavorful an quite a hit!Thank you Faye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Excellent bread but it was almost too much cinnamon. I never thought it would be possible to say that. The dough was kind of sticky and wasn't very easy to work with. I read what others wrote about only cooking it for 30 minutes, I checked at 30 minutes and it wasn't even close, unfortunately I ended up opening up the oven more than I normally would which may have messed up how it baked. It smelled awesome though and we will still make it again. Update: made it again and put about a tsp of sugar in when I proofed the yeast. Definitely need to keep the dough in the mixer as long as you can before you knead it. I kept the rectangle more even and tight and it cooked up beautifully. Kids said they liked it better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
could of used more raisins for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is fantastic! I used my bread machine on the dough cycle and made half a batch, which still gave me two small loaves. I may take some of the other suggestions and add a bit of cinnamon to the dough and maybe use brown sugar in the filling...but great texture, flavor and appearance...will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
THIS WAS WONNNNNNDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Made this as-is and found it very sweet for me, but great recipe to play with. After heating the milk, I added the raisins (increased to 3c) to let them plump up. Then I added the cinnamon to the milk so that the cinnamon was in the dough and not just a strip. I only used 1/2 c sugar because I like a hint of sweetness. I proofed the yeast with water and sugar. I also used 1/2 c bread flour and the rest all purpose to give it a little more lift. I kept the dough sticky. This tastes great just out of the oven but also makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States