Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Mm, some good cinnamon bread. I followed this recipe pretty much to the T. (Used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour, and used lard instead of butter or margarine, otherwise it was unchanged) A few problems I did have with this recipe though. One is that I didn't need nearly as much of the cinnamon-sugar mix that it called for. I only used about half. Another is that the cooking time, as many other reviewers have stated, is far too long. It was cooked in about 30 minutes, with the oven set to 325 degrees. But these problems are so minor, and the bread was so delicious, I'm rating it five stars anyways. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was a bit dry and not as sweet as I expected for cinnamon-raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I triple the raisins (we love raisins) and add them just before the dough comes out of the mixer so they don't squish. It's perfect. Freezes well, but tends to get hard and dry if not eaten within three days. However, tastes so good it won't last 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt at cinnamon raisin bread and OMG it turned out delicious! I followed the recipe exact, other than adding extra raisins ;) I wasn't sure what size or shape of a large rectangle to make and after my first attempt I now have a better idea. Also, instead of spreading milk on the dough I put some melted butter, I don't know why, I guess I thought it'd give it extra buttery flavor but I think it helped the dough suck in the cinnamon and sugar because I didn't have much swirling going on. Besides that, the bread was a HIT and was devoured. I was told it was the best cinnamon raisin bread they've ever had. Sweet deal!! I made it for brunch with the in-laws, so I only really needed 1 loaf. I froze 2 of the loaves before the final rise to save for later. Next time, I'll use the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen R.
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this recipe for the first time in 06. I've made it a few times since, but today I only had 1 pack of yeast. I halved the recipe (1 egg + 1 yolk), and it turned out great! I was able to make 2 smaller loaves. The only part of the recipe that I didn't half was the cinnamon sugar. Next time I might even add more! Such a great, easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Brook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
made the bread, followed all directions with no changes. wonderful taste, but it came out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good, I suggest rolling the dough out thinner than 1/2" to get a better swirl of the cinnamon and sugar mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I liked this recipe. It's easy to make and tastes delicious. I did add more raisins and a little more sugar than the recipe stated. I also baked it for 35 minutes instead of 45, and covered it with foil after the first 15 minutes. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This bread was awesome. My turned out ever so slightly dense, so that's why I give it 4 1/2 stars. I probably just needed to let it rise a tad longer the first time around. Instead of raisins, I used craisins!!! So awesome, next time I'll probably add 1/2 c more craisins. I love how the tart cuts down the sweet. YUM. In my cinnamon mix I used 1/2 c dark brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar with the 2 tblsp cinnamon! AMAZING! It says to let it cool so you don't squish it when it gets cut. Well, squished or not my family couldn't wait until it cooled. It was SOOO yummy. My picky toddlers gobbled it up for sure. :) Win-win for everyone! It was a great family project to make with my little girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Debated between this recipe and one found on a blog. So happy I chose this. Took all 3 loaves camping and entire family loved them! I soaked the raisins in warm milk so make plump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States