Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great recipe and easy to make. We all loved it - even my daughter who doesn't really like raisins! This is going to become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
We cut the recipe in half (following FAIR_LADY's suggestions) and still froze a second loaf - this is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made a few changes by not roll the cinnamon butter mixture into the dough and used it as a glaze. after baking and letting the bread cool I then sliced it into 1 inch thick slices and dipped the bread into A 6 egg 2 cup of milk mixture and served it as French toast for my kids and family. It was a huge hit. Also I sprinkled confectionate sugar with fresh maple syup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This bread was a hit. Unfortunately I didn't realize it makes 3 loaves so I had to run to my neighbor's to borrow a loaf pan! She didn't mind me returning it full, though. After about 3 days the bread became pretty hard, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I scaled this down to make two loaves. I had to guess with the yeast as I didn't have any packets and wouldn't have used 1 1/4 packets anyways, so I did 2 1/2 tsp. I upped the raisins to a full cup and will increase that to add least a cup and a half next time. I used a mixture of bread and all purpose flour. This is a nice, sweet raisin bread recipe that I will for sure be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Too sweet for our tastes. The dough was too puffy and it was hard to toast because the rings of dough separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I've made breads before and always come up flat...I just figured I couldnt cook. I tried this recepie and finally knocked one out of the park. It was so tasty and fresh that my boyfriend said it looked like something I bought from the store. Now I know it was the recepie and NOT me...Awesome bread and I'll be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmar1986
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Oh my gosh, I LOVE this bread!!! I changed a few things. I added 1 Tbsp of sugar to the yeast/water and let it sit for 10 mins. As the yeast was activating, I mixed the other ingredients together, except for the flour. I also used butter instead of margarine and 1 1/2 cups raisins since I like them a lot! I added the yeast mixture after 10 mins and then the cooled milk. I also used 4 cups of unbleached all-purpose flour and 4 cups bread flour since I have read that all-purpose flour isn't the best for bread. I kneaded the bread for about 10 minutes, not just a few. Let rise for 30 mins. For the sugar/cinnamon mixture, I used 1 cup sugar and 4 Tbsp cinnamon since I also love it! I covered the rolled out dough completely and then rolled it up. Lastly, I placed a glass pan of water on the bottom rack in the oven. Apparently this helps with browning the crust and keeps it from burning or drying out as easily. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees and then after I put the loaves in the oven, lowered the heat to 350 since so much heat is lost when you open the oven and apparently the first few minutes are crucial for rising. I baked for 16 mins, then turned all three pans around and baked for an additional 16 mins. I believe 45 minutes would be WAY too long. In the end, they are beautiful, and I will post pictures. Hope this review helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmar1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very good! But don't start it at 7 PM :-) I love the cinnamon swirls and would add more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I have not had very much success baking yeast bread in the past but decided to try this recipe when my son was home from college for the weekend. It went together quickly and rose up just like it was supposed to. I had high hopes. When I took it out of the oven I glazed it with a cream cheese glaze from this site. The bread smelled amazing and the first slices were pretty good, just not excellent. It was so dry as to be almost inedible by the second day. I had wrapped it in plastic wrap and then a freezer zip lock bag. I paid attention and followed the directions as closely as possible. I'm hoping someone who is a better baker than I am will tell me what I did wrong. Now I have 2 loaves of dry bread. I think I will use the leftovers for a cinnamon raisin bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States