Cinnamon Raisin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I baked a batch of this bread for the restaurant - it lasted about an hour & a half - everybody loved it. I was easy to make, although I was a little daunted about rolling the dough! Goodness know why? Anyway, I am baking a double batch tomorrow, it will be interesting to see if my first attempt was experienced baker's luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Mawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was excellent! I added more cinnamon than it called for and next time will add more raisins. My oven is a little hot so I lowered the temperature and just checked it every 5 minutes after 20 minutes. The texture was perfect and was very moist. I've not had success with a cinnamon raisin bread recipe like I have with this one. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was the best homemade raisin bread I have ever made! So delicious. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe with the exception of adding about a 1Tsp. of cinnamon to the bread batter with the raisins. I love extra cinnamon in my raisin bread. This is a keeper for me. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My bread did not rise enough. :( although I followd the recipe quite well. I just didnt have a thermometer so I just boiled the water let it cool for a minute and mixd it with the active yeast and let it sit for 10 min. n mixd it occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gypsy Jay
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I really like the ends of my bread. But the middle was just not cooked. I know what I did wrong! I took it out of the oven way to early. This was my very first time making bread, and inthought it was going to burn as it was turning brown. But the ends tasted lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The planets must have lined up! This turned out so well. Soft and tasty. i do melt the butter in the milk on the stove but no need to boil milk just heat enough to melt butter. let it cool to 110 degrees. It just makes it a bit easier when pouring all the ingredients in the bowl to mix. 2 tsp vanilla. I add 2 tbs "vital wheat gluten" to this recipe and all my breads for that matter. it helps dough rise. I used half bread and half all purpose flours. I begin in the mixer adding only 4 cups of flour on med high with paddle attachment for about 2 minutes. Gets the gluten going. Change to hook and add as much flour as the mixer can handle then kneed in the rest by hand. Then knead the raisins in last. Damp towel over buttered bowl in oven with light on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This bread is excellent - the perfect amount of sweetness. I included the raisins, but next time I may omit. They just look pretty in the bread but don't contribute much. I only prepared 1/3 of the recipe, as I wanted to use the bread machine...1 loaf requires roughly 25 minutes, otherwise you will have a beautifully burnt bread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I make this recipe very often. It's a great breakfast bread. I throw in cranberries as well as a diced Granny Smith apple. I also proof my yeast in the water that I reconstitute the raisins and cranberries in. I also cut the white flour in half and sub wheat flour for the other half. I've made it both ways.... By the recipe and my own and it's great both ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Mm, some good cinnamon bread. I followed this recipe pretty much to the T. (Used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour, and used lard instead of butter or margarine, otherwise it was unchanged) A few problems I did have with this recipe though. One is that I didn't need nearly as much of the cinnamon-sugar mix that it called for. I only used about half. Another is that the cooking time, as many other reviewers have stated, is far too long. It was cooked in about 30 minutes, with the oven set to 325 degrees. But these problems are so minor, and the bread was so delicious, I'm rating it five stars anyways. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was a bit dry and not as sweet as I expected for cinnamon-raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States