Cinnamon Pumpkin Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
When I made this recipe, I used "soured" milk (lemon juice added to milk to make it seem like I used buttermilk) and I used all butter instead of butter/olive oil. These turned out so beautifully, they puffed up nicely in the waffle iron and when you ate them, they were tender, fluffy and just WONDERFUL. I served these with extra butter and homemade maple-vanilla syrup. The family loved them. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
very good, flavorful waffles. I doubled the recipe & froze the remainder. i gave 4 stars instead of 5 due to the cooking time needing to be about 10 minutes to get them beyond the soft stage. very yummy recipe and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent! I used all purpose flour and subbed ground oats for the wheat germ. Nice crisp/tender texture and great flavor. We had these with whipped cream, maple syrup and toasted chopped pecans. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
5 stars without a doubt. These are very good. There is a lot of moisture in the batter, so they continue to emit steam even when ready to come off the waffle maker, which requires gently lifting the lid to test whether they will come out or need more time. Mine take considerably longer than the suggested time. I have made them as written, but now I do it with a few tweaks. As written, they are perfect, but to keep things simple, I use all olive oil and two whole eggs. I also like to use buttermilk. Tender crisp and full of delicious flavor. We leave out the nuts and serve with whipped cream and syrup. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Oh My Goodness, these are amazing! How nice to have something for breakfast that packs in a ton of nutrition. I made this using the white whole wheat flour and my family didn't seem to be able to tell that they are "whole wheat" waffles. I subbed Splenda for the sugar, didn't have applesauce so I used all pumpkin, walnuts were on hand so I used those instead of the pecans. The only thing I added was a teaspoon of vanilla into the wet ingredients. I will make these often, they are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are most excellent! Perfect for a fall Saturday morning. I did make a few changes - replaced half of the flour with all-purpose flour, used all canola oil instead of butter and olive oil, and 2 whole eggs. Instead of adding the applesauce, I just added another 1/2 cup pumpkin (using 1 cup pumpkin total and giving it more pumpkin oomph!). Loved the flavor and texture inside, but they didn't turn out very crisp on the outside (no doubt because of my changes, so I'm not faulting the recipe for that!). I enjoyed mine with whipped cream and a sprinkling of nutmeg, while hubby loved maple syrup on his. Just a note: to avoid an aftertaste with your waffles and pancakes, use an aluminum-free baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Made this this am, and my kids and I loved it. I doubled the batch and froze some for later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Made these for breakfast this morning..they were sooo good! I used 1/2 reg flour & 1/2 whole wheat flour. Used stevia rather than sugar & added a dash of pure vanilla. My kids, who grumped until they started to smell the waffles, raved the whole time they were eating! Will certainly make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yum! Cooked this without the wheat germ or pecans. The cooking time was a bit off. Just over 7 minutes worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These were really good. Made per the recipe but saved the nuts to put on top for those that wanted them. In addition to the nuts, we served these with real whipping cream and real maple syrup. It was a great way to use up some of the pumpkin I had left in the freezer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States