Cinnamon Pumpkin Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I will NEVER make these again!!! The only positive thing I have to say is that the flavor is yummy. I ate mine without syrup because it wasn't needed. Now the downside. They are soft and gooey and fell apart in the waffle maker. Soft and gooey is good in the center of a cookie, NOT in an entire waffle. I started cooking them longer and longer (up to 10 min.) to try to get the waffles to actually cook. The ones that stayed in long enough to have a "waffle-like texture" tasted slightly burnt. With my family of 3, having one waffle ready every 10 min. is not realistic. Since each person gets every third waffle, it is ridiculous to require the third person (usually me, as the mom) to wait half an hour just to have my first waffle. In addition to the RIDICULOUS cooking time, there are so many ingredients that it took a LONG time to measure and mix all of the ingredients. I am a pregnant lady with a toddler. I just do not have time for this type of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Just made these this afternoon and used another review suggestion to use qatmeal instead od wheat germ and they turned out tasty and lite so will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
The flavor is a five for sure, but these were incredibly hard to cook. They stuck to my waffle iron and even at that, took ages to cook through. If I can find out a way to keep the sticking at bay, I'd definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
When I made this recipe, I used "soured" milk (lemon juice added to milk to make it seem like I used buttermilk) and I used all butter instead of butter/olive oil. These turned out so beautifully, they puffed up nicely in the waffle iron and when you ate them, they were tender, fluffy and just WONDERFUL. I served these with extra butter and homemade maple-vanilla syrup. The family loved them. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These tasted fantastic, even if they weren't light, fluffy and crispy like a traditional, 'un-healthier' waffle. They were denser and floppier, but very flavorful. I replaced the applesauce with extra pumpkin, and my kids really enjoyed them. Keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I had a hard time getting these to be a firm waffle-like crunch/soft texture. They were mostly floppy. They tasted fine, but my kids weren't over excited to eat them, which is surprising. I'd like to have more pumpkin in them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were very very good. I made them for a brunch I was hosting and got rave reviews along with requests for the recipe. I served them along with fresh whipped cream and spiced syrup to top. They were the star of the breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We really enjoyed these waffles. I did the following changes: used rice milk, homemade pumpkin puree for the applesauce, walnuts, stevia for sugar. I've doubled the recipe and used 3 whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made these for my 17 month old who is cutting teeth and running a fever. He won't eat a thing but actually took a couple bites of these! I ate the rest and they are DELICIOUS!!! I ran short on whole wheat and had to use a little all purpose flour. Other than that stuck to the recipe and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These were okay - nothing too special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States