Cinnamon Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
We loved this. A warm, soothing cinnamon treat. Easy to make. Cute the way you can take out a piece of cake and the yummy sauce is there in the pan to spoon over the top. I made it without the apples--just walnuts. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is an excellent pudding cake recipe! Lots of rich sauce (secret is not to overbake - 25 minutes and it was perfect). Next time I will also use the apples and/or nuts and raisins. Very rich but yummy - especially with ice cream or hard sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was outstanding!!! Very very easy to make, with ingredients I already had on hand. Everyone loved the gooey sauce on the bottom. I put diced pears, apples, and walnuts on the top, and substituted spiced soymilk for the regular milk. This cake disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
We found this recipe so deliscious the family wants it all the time now. Thanks Matthew, hats off to you. p.s. the only way to ruin this recipe is to cook it too long... I'm on my way to have a piece now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I had JUST enough ingredients in the house to make this cake. Plus, I ONLY had a 9" square pan. But after I finished baking it, my flatmates and I DEVOURED it! I went shopping today to buy an apple so that I can make it again tonight for my neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This cake turned out great! I used a 9-inch round pan instead of square. I topped it with 2 Grannysmith apples and chopped pecans and served it with whipped cream. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is INCREDIBLE!! The cake bakes and floats to the top and the syrup turns into a luscious caramel sauce on the bottom. Do eat this warm out of the oven with ice cream or freshly whipped cream on top. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
This is an excellent, easy and quick recipe, I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This is DELICIOUS! I admit I was a little skeptical while making this...I have never made a pudding cake before so I didn't know what to expect. The batter is much thicker than your typical cake batter, and when I poured the brown sugar "syrup" over it, I was really doubtful about how it would turn out. My whole family enjoyed this with whipped cream, and I added a chopped apple on top of the cake. The only problem I had was the syrup running over the baking dish and making a mess in my oven (it's forgivable though, with how good this is). I don't know if putting the baking dish on a cookie sheet would affect the baking process, but I think I'll try that next time. Thanks, Matthew, for a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this recipe as a finale for a Jambalaya dinner and it was a great hit. Mind you, I substituted whole grain flour for the white and I added 1/4 cup bourbon to the sauce ,just before pouring it over the batter. I used apples, no nuts, and we served it with ice cream. Fabulous. Next time I'll make more sauce to have for the ice cream because there's no sauce left for the leftovers. Your grandmother was right (aren't they always?) This is a very easy to make keeper. Made this again on 4 Dec but had some problems. Now I understand some the previous negative reviews. It is very important not to overbake this as the sauce sort of turns to jelly, not very appetizing. I added some sweetened dried cranberries, Craisins, doubled the amount of apple and put them in with the dry ingredients. Baked it in a larger pan, but I should have taken it out at the 35 minute mark, instead I left it for 40 and the sauce was not very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States