Cinnamon Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
As far as pudding cakes go, I still like the ones from Paula Deen best but this was pretty good. I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 pan. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a tsp of real vanilla extract to the sauce part before I poured it over the batter. I also used fresh peeled diced peaches instead of apples and nuts because I had peaches on hand. The larger pan took 45 minutes to cook but turned out like a yummy bread pudding with rich caramel sauce.Pretty tasty! The peaches were great in this. I will try it in the fall with apples and I might try using apple cider instead of water when making the sauce to make it extra apple flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This recipe was delicious. I made it for my parents' anniversary and they loved it. One suggestion they gave me however was to increase the apples and decrease the sugar. As other reviewers have said, this recipe came out to be a little too sweet and too rich. Still delicious and I'm sure with these modifications it'll be even more delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I was searching through for another cinnamon recipe and this seemed to fit -the whole brown syrup thing sounded a little, well a lot fattening so I just skipped it and made the batter, it was really quite nice-it was more like bread than cake, you could even butter it plus it wasn't too sweet, the pieces I wanted a little extra sweetness too, I buttered and put a little bit of cinnamon/white sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
A BIG hit! Rich caramelly sauce and sweet cinnamon cake in a down-home and EASY dessert. I had my parents over for dinner and after dessert, my Mom said "this is a keeper". I think I will modify the dish slightly next time I make it. I will double the apples and stir them into the batter rather than leave them on top. I didn't have any problem with the sauce boiling over, I used a square pyrex dish and it was just the right size. Also, it's not as good at room temperature or reheated as it is warm from the oven, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is INCREDIBLE!! The cake bakes and floats to the top and the syrup turns into a luscious caramel sauce on the bottom. Do eat this warm out of the oven with ice cream or freshly whipped cream on top. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Excellent! Thanks Matthew for sharing a family treasure. It was great the way it was, just as written. I made it twice, once as written, and once with a cut back to about 3/4 C white sugar and 1 1/2 C brown sugar. Both came out excellent with the second time being just a little less sweet. Baking for 35 minutes was perfect. I think some of the variations in oven cooking temperatures have a bearing on how the results turn out for some. I calibrate my oven to a digital thermometer occasionally to make sure it is working correctly. This recipe was quick and easy to make with ingrediants that are usually available in every kitchen and tastes like a lot more work than it is, my kind of recipe. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this recipe as a finale for a Jambalaya dinner and it was a great hit. Mind you, I substituted whole grain flour for the white and I added 1/4 cup bourbon to the sauce ,just before pouring it over the batter. I used apples, no nuts, and we served it with ice cream. Fabulous. Next time I'll make more sauce to have for the ice cream because there's no sauce left for the leftovers. Your grandmother was right (aren't they always?) This is a very easy to make keeper. Made this again on 4 Dec but had some problems. Now I understand some the previous negative reviews. It is very important not to overbake this as the sauce sort of turns to jelly, not very appetizing. I added some sweetened dried cranberries, Craisins, doubled the amount of apple and put them in with the dry ingredients. Baked it in a larger pan, but I should have taken it out at the 35 minute mark, instead I left it for 40 and the sauce was not very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I had a craving for something easy and cinnamon last night, so I whipped this up. I'd never heard of pudding cake, so I didn't know what to expect, I just went from the reviews. It seemed weird how the ingredients (no eggs, no oil) could turn into some kind of cake, but it sure did! I gave it a shot and it's OUTSTANDING. It kinda reminded me of a big warm muffin with sauce. I didn't have any fruit, but I think I would try to add them if I made this again - just for the variation. This would be a great brunch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori C:
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I made with whole wheat flour and topped with apples and raisins. Our family has a sweet tooth, but this is VERY sweet. Suggest to use less sugar in the sauce. Recommend to serve with alot of ice cream and a little cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is an excellent pudding cake recipe! Lots of rich sauce (secret is not to overbake - 25 minutes and it was perfect). Next time I will also use the apples and/or nuts and raisins. Very rich but yummy - especially with ice cream or hard sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States