Cinnamon Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
As far as pudding cakes go, I still like the ones from Paula Deen best but this was pretty good. I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 pan. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a tsp of real vanilla extract to the sauce part before I poured it over the batter. I also used fresh peeled diced peaches instead of apples and nuts because I had peaches on hand. The larger pan took 45 minutes to cook but turned out like a yummy bread pudding with rich caramel sauce.Pretty tasty! The peaches were great in this. I will try it in the fall with apples and I might try using apple cider instead of water when making the sauce to make it extra apple flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This recipe was delicious. I made it for my parents' anniversary and they loved it. One suggestion they gave me however was to increase the apples and decrease the sugar. As other reviewers have said, this recipe came out to be a little too sweet and too rich. Still delicious and I'm sure with these modifications it'll be even more delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori C:
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I made with whole wheat flour and topped with apples and raisins. Our family has a sweet tooth, but this is VERY sweet. Suggest to use less sugar in the sauce. Recommend to serve with alot of ice cream and a little cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
A BIG hit! Rich caramelly sauce and sweet cinnamon cake in a down-home and EASY dessert. I had my parents over for dinner and after dessert, my Mom said "this is a keeper". I think I will modify the dish slightly next time I make it. I will double the apples and stir them into the batter rather than leave them on top. I didn't have any problem with the sauce boiling over, I used a square pyrex dish and it was just the right size. Also, it's not as good at room temperature or reheated as it is warm from the oven, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
YUM! This was the first time I have ever made a cake like this (I'm glad I read the other reviews or I would have been very worried about the consistency of the batter). It tasted more like bread pudding to me (and that isn't a bad thing!). I loved the way it looked when all of the apples and nuts cooked up. And, of course, it was soooo simple to make--something with ingredients I generally always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Excellent! Thanks Matthew for sharing a family treasure. It was great the way it was, just as written. I made it twice, once as written, and once with a cut back to about 3/4 C white sugar and 1 1/2 C brown sugar. Both came out excellent with the second time being just a little less sweet. Baking for 35 minutes was perfect. I think some of the variations in oven cooking temperatures have a bearing on how the results turn out for some. I calibrate my oven to a digital thermometer occasionally to make sure it is working correctly. This recipe was quick and easy to make with ingrediants that are usually available in every kitchen and tastes like a lot more work than it is, my kind of recipe. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this recipe as a finale for a Jambalaya dinner and it was a great hit. Mind you, I substituted whole grain flour for the white and I added 1/4 cup bourbon to the sauce ,just before pouring it over the batter. I used apples, no nuts, and we served it with ice cream. Fabulous. Next time I'll make more sauce to have for the ice cream because there's no sauce left for the leftovers. Your grandmother was right (aren't they always?) This is a very easy to make keeper. Made this again on 4 Dec but had some problems. Now I understand some the previous negative reviews. It is very important not to overbake this as the sauce sort of turns to jelly, not very appetizing. I added some sweetened dried cranberries, Craisins, doubled the amount of apple and put them in with the dry ingredients. Baked it in a larger pan, but I should have taken it out at the 35 minute mark, instead I left it for 40 and the sauce was not very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very very very sweet - the sauce that is made isn't really a pudding, more like a loose sweet sweet caramel sauce. The recipe 'worked', but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was really good. When warm, it goes well with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This was ok. I would suggest baking for 55 minutes. I would also suggest cutting the brown sugar by 1/2 cup. (I don't like overly sweet things. So I really don't think this is the recipes fault.) It had a nice flavor though. I used 3 teaspoons of apple pie spice instead of cinnamon just because I like it more. However I will use less next time because those spices are stronger than cinnamon alone. I used apple sauce instead of apples, this I liked because it make the sauce really thick. I will make it again. It is quick, and it serves my sweet tooth quite handsomely. I love bread pudding and this is more reasonable to make. I also want to use raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States